Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
This recipe is simply great! My mother-in-law who is 100 yrs. old had a recipe for a dark fruit cake that had molasses in the ingredients, but lost it two years ago. This recipe is even more moist than hers. Now I can carry on the tradition of baking a fruitcake for the Holidays.It's so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Don't listen to the other poor review, quite simply this is the BEST fruitcake recipe EVER!Ofcourse the cloves are strong,the cake must age to it's rich spicy perfection!I have made it a few years and found if you soak the fruit w one-half cup of the brandy for a day its moister.I use rum instead,too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I actually tried another recipe for fruitcake this year, by some famous chef's mum but it doesn't taste as good as this one. If you're complaining about 2 hours, the other recipe called for 5 hours. So I'm remaking the fruitcakes again, using THIS recipe. I did tweak a bit, I use 1 cup molasses sugar instead and I add some honey in as I love the smell of honey when I bake. And i'll give it a full 2 to 3 hours. 1 hour isn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNIETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
My husband's newest favorite fruitcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
I love this fruitcake! Very filling, very spicy. I don't think it will last long enough to age. I didn't put in the lemon rind though. I am so thrilled to have this recipe. I've made this cake and have given it out for Christmas for the last few years. I do age it in powdered sugar. To age it this way: first, soak it real good with your favorite spirits. Second, place it in a tin that can be made airtight. Then, fill tin up with powdered sugar. Let it age at least one full month. Leave sugar in with the cake. Also, another way to age the cake is to wrap it in soaked cheese cloth and place in tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
one of twelve recipies I tried this year and the best of the cakes. a big part of that is because it is dried fruit not candied. I did halve the spices after I read other reviews and am glad I did. I also made it without alcohol (apple juice) and with 1/3 less butter and pecans instead of walnuts. still better than the rest of the cakes I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I baked this Fruitcake last year and it was quite a hit. I felt a little less of the spices may help. I decreased the amount of cloves and nutmeg to 1 tablespoon each. I also added 2 tablespoon of grated orange zest. Used pecans instead of walnuts. Baked for 1 hour and 20 minutes. I am very thankful that you shared this recipe with us. It is truly the most flavorable and easiest Fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Lovely spicy, moist fruitcake; I only withheld one star because the baking time, or perhaps the oven setting, is wrong. I allowed plenty of time, because it didn't look right to me, and sure enough, the cake baked a full two hours. Worth it, though! Nice texture. I did reduce the cloves, allspice, and nutmeg to one tablespoon each, just because that felt like a good idea, and it's still wonderfully spicy. You'll need the zest of two whole lemons to get two tablespoons, but it's worth it. Now all I have to do is try to keep from eating it before Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I reduced the spices in this to half. I only put additional brandy on it after baking five days. I increased the baking time, to 2 hours, if memory serves. What I got was a cake that I think is still too spicy, and borders on soggy. I suspected this was happening, which is why I stopped with the additional brandy after baking. If I were to do this recipe again, I'd probably cut back on all the spices except the cinnamon to 3/4 tablespoon, keep the cinnamon at 1 TBS. I would also omit the application of the brandy after baking. I would consider doing it with rum instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Just made it a few days ago so we haven't eaten it yet, but I can say it took almost 2 hours to cook, so be aware of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States