Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
one of twelve recipies I tried this year and the best of the cakes. a big part of that is because it is dried fruit not candied. I did halve the spices after I read other reviews and am glad I did. I also made it without alcohol (apple juice) and with 1/3 less butter and pecans instead of walnuts. still better than the rest of the cakes I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I am well known for my bake goods and I have to say I have never been this disappointed in a recipe. I wasted a lot of ingredients. I will not make it again. The recipe is misleading in the amount of ingredients and cooking time. I really thought it was a prank.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
My husband's newest favorite fruitcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is the first fruitcake I ever tried to bake. At 225 degrees, the cake took almost two hours to bake. Though the toothpick came out clean, the cake still stuck to the pan, breaking when I took it out of the pan. The nutmeg and brandy seem to be too much. I sprinkled only about three-quarters of the brandy called for in the recipe. Next year I will half the brandy and nutmeg. While I realize my oven is not calibrated, I will likely raise the baking temperature a few degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Just made it a few days ago so we haven't eaten it yet, but I can say it took almost 2 hours to cook, so be aware of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I reduced the spices in this to half. I only put additional brandy on it after baking five days. I increased the baking time, to 2 hours, if memory serves. What I got was a cake that I think is still too spicy, and borders on soggy. I suspected this was happening, which is why I stopped with the additional brandy after baking. If I were to do this recipe again, I'd probably cut back on all the spices except the cinnamon to 3/4 tablespoon, keep the cinnamon at 1 TBS. I would also omit the application of the brandy after baking. I would consider doing it with rum instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I baked this Fruitcake last year and it was quite a hit. I felt a little less of the spices may help. I decreased the amount of cloves and nutmeg to 1 tablespoon each. I also added 2 tablespoon of grated orange zest. Used pecans instead of walnuts. Baked for 1 hour and 20 minutes. I am very thankful that you shared this recipe with us. It is truly the most flavorable and easiest Fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I actually tried another recipe for fruitcake this year, by some famous chef's mum but it doesn't taste as good as this one. If you're complaining about 2 hours, the other recipe called for 5 hours. So I'm remaking the fruitcakes again, using THIS recipe. I did tweak a bit, I use 1 cup molasses sugar instead and I add some honey in as I love the smell of honey when I bake. And i'll give it a full 2 to 3 hours. 1 hour isn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNIETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Lovely spicy, moist fruitcake; I only withheld one star because the baking time, or perhaps the oven setting, is wrong. I allowed plenty of time, because it didn't look right to me, and sure enough, the cake baked a full two hours. Worth it, though! Nice texture. I did reduce the cloves, allspice, and nutmeg to one tablespoon each, just because that felt like a good idea, and it's still wonderfully spicy. You'll need the zest of two whole lemons to get two tablespoons, but it's worth it. Now all I have to do is try to keep from eating it before Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I'm sorry it's way to spicy. We cut the cloves & allspice totally and recommend cutting the cinnimon & nutmeg by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States