Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
one of twelve recipies I tried this year and the best of the cakes. a big part of that is because it is dried fruit not candied. I did halve the spices after I read other reviews and am glad I did. I also made it without alcohol (apple juice) and with 1/3 less butter and pecans instead of walnuts. still better than the rest of the cakes I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I am well known for my bake goods and I have to say I have never been this disappointed in a recipe. I wasted a lot of ingredients. I will not make it again. The recipe is misleading in the amount of ingredients and cooking time. I really thought it was a prank.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
My husband's newest favorite fruitcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is the first fruitcake I ever tried to bake. At 225 degrees, the cake took almost two hours to bake. Though the toothpick came out clean, the cake still stuck to the pan, breaking when I took it out of the pan. The nutmeg and brandy seem to be too much. I sprinkled only about three-quarters of the brandy called for in the recipe. Next year I will half the brandy and nutmeg. While I realize my oven is not calibrated, I will likely raise the baking temperature a few degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Just made it a few days ago so we haven't eaten it yet, but I can say it took almost 2 hours to cook, so be aware of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I reduced the spices in this to half. I only put additional brandy on it after baking five days. I increased the baking time, to 2 hours, if memory serves. What I got was a cake that I think is still too spicy, and borders on soggy. I suspected this was happening, which is why I stopped with the additional brandy after baking. If I were to do this recipe again, I'd probably cut back on all the spices except the cinnamon to 3/4 tablespoon, keep the cinnamon at 1 TBS. I would also omit the application of the brandy after baking. I would consider doing it with rum instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I baked this Fruitcake last year and it was quite a hit. I felt a little less of the spices may help. I decreased the amount of cloves and nutmeg to 1 tablespoon each. I also added 2 tablespoon of grated orange zest. Used pecans instead of walnuts. Baked for 1 hour and 20 minutes. I am very thankful that you shared this recipe with us. It is truly the most flavorable and easiest Fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I actually tried another recipe for fruitcake this year, by some famous chef's mum but it doesn't taste as good as this one. If you're complaining about 2 hours, the other recipe called for 5 hours. So I'm remaking the fruitcakes again, using THIS recipe. I did tweak a bit, I use 1 cup molasses sugar instead and I add some honey in as I love the smell of honey when I bake. And i'll give it a full 2 to 3 hours. 1 hour isn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNIETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Lovely spicy, moist fruitcake; I only withheld one star because the baking time, or perhaps the oven setting, is wrong. I allowed plenty of time, because it didn't look right to me, and sure enough, the cake baked a full two hours. Worth it, though! Nice texture. I did reduce the cloves, allspice, and nutmeg to one tablespoon each, just because that felt like a good idea, and it's still wonderfully spicy. You'll need the zest of two whole lemons to get two tablespoons, but it's worth it. Now all I have to do is try to keep from eating it before Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I'm sorry it's way to spicy. We cut the cloves & allspice totally and recommend cutting the cinnimon & nutmeg by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States