Fruitcake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I had to modify a bit because of the altitude here, and my aversion to alcohol, but this is the most wonderful cookie I ever baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This recipe is wonderful! Even diehard fruitcake haters loved these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
a WONDERFUL recipe! I baked about half of these the day after I mixed them up. Due to schedule conflicts, it was another 3 days before I finished baking the rest of the cookies. The second batch I baked were even better than the first! I will definitely keep this to use year after year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I made the dough last night and tested a couple of cookies before letting the dough sit. They were excellent. I am making the rest today. I totally hacked the recipe but it's a great base to work from. I didn't have bourban, so I used apricot preserves and added a little more milk instead, also a tsp of rum flavoring. I only had one pound of raisins, so I threw in a handful of dried cranberries. I didn't have dried pineapple at all, so I added dates instead. The cranberries were *ok* but would probably not use them next time. They had quite a tart bite. I'm glad I didn't use a lot. The only thing wrong with the recipe is I think the "drop by tsp" is a typo. There is no way you could drop this chunky dough by the teaspoon. I'm using a big cookie dough scoop. I'm giving it a 5 stars because if this was easy to mess up, I certainly would have done it. Even with all of the modifications, this came out excellent. Thanks a bunch. A great holiday addition to my cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROSPERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I just came back to read my posted review and saw Olga's just below. Yes, it is true that if you 'drop by teaspoons' you will get mini cookies. I dropped them by heaped Tablespoons and then formed them into shape because some cookies in the first batch fell apart. I only made half the recipe and got over 90 cookies but the amount you get depends on how much dough you portion for one cookie. I thought they did look pretty - like homemade cookies and the cookies are chock full of fruits & nuts, it can only remind you of fruitcake. Besides, this is a cookie and not a cake. I still am not sure how they are supposed to taste but I am happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
excellent cookie recipe! I gave loads of these for holidays last year to rave reviews. They are great to make ahead as they age beautifully and taste GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This recipe is easy to prepare and easy to customize. I do not like bourbon so I used water with a lot of vanilla extract. I also did not have enough raisins or the pineapple and just used extra fruitcake mix to make up most of the difference. This made WAY more than 4-6 dozen when dropped by teaspoons, but it was a nice size cookie. I wouldn't make them any bigger. Now I just have plenty to share. I do not like fruitcake AT ALL, but would actually eat these. My husband LOVED them. I hope they last till Xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I halved the recipe and it still made dozens of cookies. I made heaping TBSP sized cookies. I followed the recipe exactly and they were good. My husband liked them too, as we both like fruit cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I used this recipe last year because I ran out of time to make fruitcakes. I got nothing but praise from the people I gave them to. My husband and daughter, who think you have to have fruitcake at Christmas, were even satisfied by these and want them again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Mary Lou...I love this recipe. Thank you. What a unique cookie. Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States