Fruitcake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This recipe is an old one. I got my version from my mother. At least 50 years ago. I use candied fruit mix and no pineapple. Also use 3 teaspoons soda dissolved into the milk and 1-1/2 t of nutmeg, clove, & cinnamon along with 3/4 t of allspice and 1 Cup of nuts. We give them in tins as Christmas presents to our families and friends. Always a favorite at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I have never had fruitcake in my life, nor have I had fruitcake cookies. I have no idea what they are supposed to taste like. They are so full of fruit and nuts they fall apart very easily, so I was thinking I put too much fruit and nuts in. I reread the recipe and I don't think so. I did sub other dried fruit because I couldn't find candied gruit other than red cherries. They're all right, if you like candied fruit. I actually think less fruit and nuts would be better, and I think I prefer dried fruit as opposed to candied. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Wonderful!! Huge kudos from the staff at my office. This recipe made so many cookies, that not only did I feed the office, but I also gave away platters to several neighbors and still had plenty for us. The taste is just incredible (and I really don't care for fruitcake). I'll be making these year after year after year after..... (thanks!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Excellent recipe. I substituted grape juice for the bourbon to make a non alcoholic version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These cookies are amazing. I plan to serve these every Christmas from now on. Worth the expense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Tasty. Quite a bit of fruit. I think the next time I make this I will decrease fruit so there is a little more cookie batter. Also, when this recipe popped up it was for 72 servings. That makes a HUGE amount. I think a half recipe would be more to the expected size cookie batch quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I felt I had to rate these due to the very expensive ingredients......I doulbed the recipe (4 LBS. of nuts!) to take to a bake sale and as gifts......followed the recipe EXACTLY. Just took the first and second batches out of the oven. They do not hold up at all! The dough was fine going on the cookie sheet.....but when I try to take them off......they just crumble into a soft MESS. I bake quite often.....and this is the first time I've ever had such a disaster! The taste is fine.....but DO NOT BAKE THESE to give as gifts or to show to anyone. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I made the dough for this recipe 3 nights ago and baked up a trial batch 2 nights ago. Because of the various comments that the cookies didn't hold together I chopped up most of the fruits which made them a lot stickier. I chopped them to varying degrees and left most of the raisins whole for more interesting texture. I also chopped the nuts. Finally, I packed the dough together tightly before refrigerating. In the end the cookies held together quite nicely. (I let them cool a little before taking them off my baking sheet - that may have helped too...) I tried various shapes and sizes for the cookie. It bakes up pretty much exactly as you put it on the baking sheet, so the prettier the shape you put down the prettier the cookie will be. My favorite was a standard 1.5" diameter cookie dough scoop. It was easy and quick to scoop, kept the dough packed together automatically, and made nice rounded ball-shaped cookies. Finally, I used some standard mixed candied fruit in place of some of the cherries and pineapple just for convenience, and that worked fine. I think the cookies are amazing, can't stop eating them, and will probably make them every Christmas now. But at my holiday party no one ranted and raved about them, so I'm giving them 4 stars instead of 5. Of course, this was not a fruitcake-loving crowd...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Mary Lou...I love this recipe. Thank you. What a unique cookie. Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I used this recipe last year because I ran out of time to make fruitcakes. I got nothing but praise from the people I gave them to. My husband and daughter, who think you have to have fruitcake at Christmas, were even satisfied by these and want them again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States