Fruitcake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Excellent recipe. I substituted grape juice for the bourbon to make a non alcoholic version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These cookies are amazing. I plan to serve these every Christmas from now on. Worth the expense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Tasty. Quite a bit of fruit. I think the next time I make this I will decrease fruit so there is a little more cookie batter. Also, when this recipe popped up it was for 72 servings. That makes a HUGE amount. I think a half recipe would be more to the expected size cookie batch quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I felt I had to rate these due to the very expensive ingredients......I doulbed the recipe (4 LBS. of nuts!) to take to a bake sale and as gifts......followed the recipe EXACTLY. Just took the first and second batches out of the oven. They do not hold up at all! The dough was fine going on the cookie sheet.....but when I try to take them off......they just crumble into a soft MESS. I bake quite often.....and this is the first time I've ever had such a disaster! The taste is fine.....but DO NOT BAKE THESE to give as gifts or to show to anyone. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I made the dough for this recipe 3 nights ago and baked up a trial batch 2 nights ago. Because of the various comments that the cookies didn't hold together I chopped up most of the fruits which made them a lot stickier. I chopped them to varying degrees and left most of the raisins whole for more interesting texture. I also chopped the nuts. Finally, I packed the dough together tightly before refrigerating. In the end the cookies held together quite nicely. (I let them cool a little before taking them off my baking sheet - that may have helped too...) I tried various shapes and sizes for the cookie. It bakes up pretty much exactly as you put it on the baking sheet, so the prettier the shape you put down the prettier the cookie will be. My favorite was a standard 1.5" diameter cookie dough scoop. It was easy and quick to scoop, kept the dough packed together automatically, and made nice rounded ball-shaped cookies. Finally, I used some standard mixed candied fruit in place of some of the cherries and pineapple just for convenience, and that worked fine. I think the cookies are amazing, can't stop eating them, and will probably make them every Christmas now. But at my holiday party no one ranted and raved about them, so I'm giving them 4 stars instead of 5. Of course, this was not a fruitcake-loving crowd...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Mary Lou...I love this recipe. Thank you. What a unique cookie. Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I used this recipe last year because I ran out of time to make fruitcakes. I got nothing but praise from the people I gave them to. My husband and daughter, who think you have to have fruitcake at Christmas, were even satisfied by these and want them again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I halved the recipe and it still made dozens of cookies. I made heaping TBSP sized cookies. I followed the recipe exactly and they were good. My husband liked them too, as we both like fruit cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Made these for Christmas, too close to Christmas to get the "aged flavor", so they may become an incredible New Year's cookie, who knows? I used sweetened cranberries, golden raisins, dried mango (we live in California) and pecans. I used Spiced Rum instead of the bourbon, which I think was a good move. I also would put coconut in next time as there is somewhat of a tropical theme working with my fruit selection. The cookies do not expand and 1 large tablespoon seemed to make a good sized cookie. If you are looking for a fruitcake tasting cookie, this is not it, but it is interesting and seems to bear individual adaptations well. I think next time I will also try adding some cinnamon as they could use a little more zip. All in all a fairly healthy, safe cookie that my boys ate for breakfast. Two was plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This recipe is easy to prepare and easy to customize. I do not like bourbon so I used water with a lot of vanilla extract. I also did not have enough raisins or the pineapple and just used extra fruitcake mix to make up most of the difference. This made WAY more than 4-6 dozen when dropped by teaspoons, but it was a nice size cookie. I wouldn't make them any bigger. Now I just have plenty to share. I do not like fruitcake AT ALL, but would actually eat these. My husband LOVED them. I hope they last till Xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States