Fruitcake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I made the dough last night and tested a couple of cookies before letting the dough sit. They were excellent. I am making the rest today. I totally hacked the recipe but it's a great base to work from. I didn't have bourban, so I used apricot preserves and added a little more milk instead, also a tsp of rum flavoring. I only had one pound of raisins, so I threw in a handful of dried cranberries. I didn't have dried pineapple at all, so I added dates instead. The cranberries were *ok* but would probably not use them next time. They had quite a tart bite. I'm glad I didn't use a lot. The only thing wrong with the recipe is I think the "drop by tsp" is a typo. There is no way you could drop this chunky dough by the teaspoon. I'm using a big cookie dough scoop. I'm giving it a 5 stars because if this was easy to mess up, I certainly would have done it. Even with all of the modifications, this came out excellent. Thanks a bunch. A great holiday addition to my cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROSPERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Wonderful!! Huge kudos from the staff at my office. This recipe made so many cookies, that not only did I feed the office, but I also gave away platters to several neighbors and still had plenty for us. The taste is just incredible (and I really don't care for fruitcake). I'll be making these year after year after year after..... (thanks!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I just came back to read my posted review and saw Olga's just below. Yes, it is true that if you 'drop by teaspoons' you will get mini cookies. I dropped them by heaped Tablespoons and then formed them into shape because some cookies in the first batch fell apart. I only made half the recipe and got over 90 cookies but the amount you get depends on how much dough you portion for one cookie. I thought they did look pretty - like homemade cookies and the cookies are chock full of fruits & nuts, it can only remind you of fruitcake. Besides, this is a cookie and not a cake. I still am not sure how they are supposed to taste but I am happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I had to modify a bit because of the altitude here, and my aversion to alcohol, but this is the most wonderful cookie I ever baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These are delicious, and the only cookie I made this year that will NEED to reappear on my cookie tray each holiday season. I do like fruitcake, so maybe I'm biased, but the sweet nutty candied-cherry-and-pineapple dessert makes the holidays and this cookie is even better than the cake. The nuts have that amazing toasted flavor after baking on the sheet, and the cookie size (I did go to about 1.5/2 TBSP dough) is just great for individual portion control. It is also great for people wary of fruitcake: they think, "Oh I'll take one it's just a couple bites" and before they know it someone new is hooked. I made the dough exactly as written (well no golden all standard raisins) and see no need to change it. A cup of whiskey seemed like a lot and the raw dough smelled strongly of it: no problems after baking however, just a deeper flavor to the cookie that we find indistinguishable as whiskey. I was also tempted to skip the step of chilling the dough overnight in the fridge, but it can only help the flavors and the chill is important to help the chunky dough stay together. Making the recipe as written I did NOT have issues with crumbling, I did however make sure each drop cookie was nice and compact in the scoop, using my fingers as neccessary to pack the dough. Pretty on the plate and oh-so-easy: don't be afraid of this one! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I made the dough for this recipe 3 nights ago and baked up a trial batch 2 nights ago. Because of the various comments that the cookies didn't hold together I chopped up most of the fruits which made them a lot stickier. I chopped them to varying degrees and left most of the raisins whole for more interesting texture. I also chopped the nuts. Finally, I packed the dough together tightly before refrigerating. In the end the cookies held together quite nicely. (I let them cool a little before taking them off my baking sheet - that may have helped too...) I tried various shapes and sizes for the cookie. It bakes up pretty much exactly as you put it on the baking sheet, so the prettier the shape you put down the prettier the cookie will be. My favorite was a standard 1.5" diameter cookie dough scoop. It was easy and quick to scoop, kept the dough packed together automatically, and made nice rounded ball-shaped cookies. Finally, I used some standard mixed candied fruit in place of some of the cherries and pineapple just for convenience, and that worked fine. I think the cookies are amazing, can't stop eating them, and will probably make them every Christmas now. But at my holiday party no one ranted and raved about them, so I'm giving them 4 stars instead of 5. Of course, this was not a fruitcake-loving crowd...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This recipe is wonderful! Even diehard fruitcake haters loved these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I used this recipe last year because I ran out of time to make fruitcakes. I got nothing but praise from the people I gave them to. My husband and daughter, who think you have to have fruitcake at Christmas, were even satisfied by these and want them again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This recipe is easy to prepare and easy to customize. I do not like bourbon so I used water with a lot of vanilla extract. I also did not have enough raisins or the pineapple and just used extra fruitcake mix to make up most of the difference. This made WAY more than 4-6 dozen when dropped by teaspoons, but it was a nice size cookie. I wouldn't make them any bigger. Now I just have plenty to share. I do not like fruitcake AT ALL, but would actually eat these. My husband LOVED them. I hope they last till Xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Made these for Christmas, too close to Christmas to get the "aged flavor", so they may become an incredible New Year's cookie, who knows? I used sweetened cranberries, golden raisins, dried mango (we live in California) and pecans. I used Spiced Rum instead of the bourbon, which I think was a good move. I also would put coconut in next time as there is somewhat of a tropical theme working with my fruit selection. The cookies do not expand and 1 large tablespoon seemed to make a good sized cookie. If you are looking for a fruitcake tasting cookie, this is not it, but it is interesting and seems to bear individual adaptations well. I think next time I will also try adding some cinnamon as they could use a little more zip. All in all a fairly healthy, safe cookie that my boys ate for breakfast. Two was plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States