Fruitcake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I thought these were very easy to make and quite good, but next time I will add a little salt to bring out the flavor more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
excellent cookie recipe! I gave loads of these for holidays last year to rave reviews. They are great to make ahead as they age beautifully and taste GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
"72 servings, drop by teaspoonfuls". If dropping by teaspoonfuls what is a serving because my cookies are like 2 heaping tablespoon sizes to make 72 cookies? I was excited about making the cookies, but was very disappointed as I found they fall apart, don't look pretty and really have no taste of fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I just came back to read my posted review and saw Olga's just below. Yes, it is true that if you 'drop by teaspoons' you will get mini cookies. I dropped them by heaped Tablespoons and then formed them into shape because some cookies in the first batch fell apart. I only made half the recipe and got over 90 cookies but the amount you get depends on how much dough you portion for one cookie. I thought they did look pretty - like homemade cookies and the cookies are chock full of fruits & nuts, it can only remind you of fruitcake. Besides, this is a cookie and not a cake. I still am not sure how they are supposed to taste but I am happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I made the dough last night and tested a couple of cookies before letting the dough sit. They were excellent. I am making the rest today. I totally hacked the recipe but it's a great base to work from. I didn't have bourban, so I used apricot preserves and added a little more milk instead, also a tsp of rum flavoring. I only had one pound of raisins, so I threw in a handful of dried cranberries. I didn't have dried pineapple at all, so I added dates instead. The cranberries were *ok* but would probably not use them next time. They had quite a tart bite. I'm glad I didn't use a lot. The only thing wrong with the recipe is I think the "drop by tsp" is a typo. There is no way you could drop this chunky dough by the teaspoon. I'm using a big cookie dough scoop. I'm giving it a 5 stars because if this was easy to mess up, I certainly would have done it. Even with all of the modifications, this came out excellent. Thanks a bunch. A great holiday addition to my cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROSPERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
a WONDERFUL recipe! I baked about half of these the day after I mixed them up. Due to schedule conflicts, it was another 3 days before I finished baking the rest of the cookies. The second batch I baked were even better than the first! I will definitely keep this to use year after year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This recipe is wonderful! Even diehard fruitcake haters loved these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I had to modify a bit because of the altitude here, and my aversion to alcohol, but this is the most wonderful cookie I ever baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States