Fruitcake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These are delicious, and the only cookie I made this year that will NEED to reappear on my cookie tray each holiday season. I do like fruitcake, so maybe I'm biased, but the sweet nutty candied-cherry-and-pineapple dessert makes the holidays and this cookie is even better than the cake. The nuts have that amazing toasted flavor after baking on the sheet, and the cookie size (I did go to about 1.5/2 TBSP dough) is just great for individual portion control. It is also great for people wary of fruitcake: they think, "Oh I'll take one it's just a couple bites" and before they know it someone new is hooked. I made the dough exactly as written (well no golden all standard raisins) and see no need to change it. A cup of whiskey seemed like a lot and the raw dough smelled strongly of it: no problems after baking however, just a deeper flavor to the cookie that we find indistinguishable as whiskey. I was also tempted to skip the step of chilling the dough overnight in the fridge, but it can only help the flavors and the chill is important to help the chunky dough stay together. Making the recipe as written I did NOT have issues with crumbling, I did however make sure each drop cookie was nice and compact in the scoop, using my fingers as neccessary to pack the dough. Pretty on the plate and oh-so-easy: don't be afraid of this one! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I did not care for this recipe at all. The cookies overall had a very plain flavor, and I didn't like the texture of the dough, either. The dough was way too light and airy to resemble fruitcake very much, and like I said, they tasted very plain to me. After buying all the expensive ingredients, I was quite disappointed. Maybe they might be better if the cinnamon and nutmeg were almost doubled, and perhaps add some allspice too. Also, maybe if you poured some boiling water over the raisins first to plump them up, and then soaked them for a few hours in some bourbon to flavor them up, it might help. Maybe add some chopped dates and/or prunes too. But as is, I wouldn't make these again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
My mother-in-law made these every Christmas but now has Alzheimers, so thought I would try them. My mother passed away this past November and her favorite bed time drink was Hazelnut Kahlua and since I don't drink it I used it instead of the bourbon. May I just say that I really liked this version better and maybe Mom is smiling down at me as my family enjoys them this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I have made these in the past and they are DELICIOUS! I lost the recipe but I would add soda, cloves and allspice. Take out the golden raisins, and chop the candied fruit into small pieces as I can't stand the big chunks. Everybody loves these! I can't wait to make them again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Great! As good as fruitcake! Yes, I am a fan of those little dense bricks that are circulated at the holidays. These cookies were an easy and non-intimidating way to distribute the candied fruit goodness. Love the spiciness of these...I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Outstanding! Most of my family does not like fruit cake except for my mother and I. So I tried to sneak them by as cookies with this recipe. Not only did it work, but they wanted 2nds. I cut the recipe in 1/2 worried only my mother and I would be the only consumers. I made 48 large cookies w/ 1/2 a batch. now a seasonal regular. thanks mary lou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made several batches last year at Christmas and have been asked to make more this year! They are incredibly easy to make and more delicious than I ever expected a cookie with the word "Fruitcake" in the name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly J. Garrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fortville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This recipe is an old one. I got my version from my mother. At least 50 years ago. I use candied fruit mix and no pineapple. Also use 3 teaspoons soda dissolved into the milk and 1-1/2 t of nutmeg, clove, & cinnamon along with 3/4 t of allspice and 1 Cup of nuts. We give them in tins as Christmas presents to our families and friends. Always a favorite at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I have never had fruitcake in my life, nor have I had fruitcake cookies. I have no idea what they are supposed to taste like. They are so full of fruit and nuts they fall apart very easily, so I was thinking I put too much fruit and nuts in. I reread the recipe and I don't think so. I did sub other dried fruit because I couldn't find candied gruit other than red cherries. They're all right, if you like candied fruit. I actually think less fruit and nuts would be better, and I think I prefer dried fruit as opposed to candied. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Wonderful!! Huge kudos from the staff at my office. This recipe made so many cookies, that not only did I feed the office, but I also gave away platters to several neighbors and still had plenty for us. The taste is just incredible (and I really don't care for fruitcake). I'll be making these year after year after year after..... (thanks!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States