Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I LOVE fruitcake and this is the first time I've made any. I made this into 8 small cakes and one loaf size. I began about a week before Thanksgiving. I soaked my fruit in brandy for a couple of days, then made the cakes according to the directions. I just tried one of the small cakes tonight and I am happy with the results. My cakes were sticking to the foil so I rewrapped them in cheesecloth then foil. This seems to be working better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
So far, so good! I'm not a fan of fruitcake, but last year started the tradition of making it for my father-in-law for Christmas. I used one 9x5" loaf pan, and two 5x3" pans, and had the perfect amount of batter. It baked very nicely in about an hour and a half and is in the aging stage right now. Seems like the perfect texture and smell for all those fruitcake lovers to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I didn't like fruit cake until I tried this recipe! I added much more dried fruit like cranberries, appricots, dates and for nuts used pecans. I cooked the cake for 1-1/2 hours and found it is better to be less than over done. Fabulous taste and better the longer it ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Great fruitcake. I soaked my dried fruit mix in rum and I used rum instead of brandy. I also cooked the cake for 3 hours. I made it twice. The second time I added one cup applesauce because I had read it makes the cake moister. Big mistake the cakes did not turn out well at all. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Excellent! I soaked my fruits and nuts in brandy for a week in advance and aged the cakes longer (more brandy applied less frequently). Like everyone else, mine took about 3 hours to bake, and longer wouldn't have hurt. I think a lot depends on whether your image of fruitcake is dry or wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I went to make this cake 3 1/2 weeks before Christmas and discovered I only had one egg. I used egg substitute and a little nut oil instead. As such, I don't think I can rate this cake fairly considering a fruitcake has so many ingredients it is vitally important to follow the recipe exactly. That being said, I did make this cake and because I didn't have enough eggs it was slightly crumbly. I should have left the cake to cool in the pan as once it was cool it was alot easier to remove. ***TIP: To line the bottom of a round cake pan with non-stick paper, turn your pan upside down and measure a square of paper so that it hangs over the edges by an inch. Then fold that square in half exactly and then in half again. Now fold it into half again so that it is in a triangle shape. Put the point of the triangle in the center of your upside down pan and then with kitchen scissors cut the excess paper that hangs over the edge in a curve. When you unfold the paper it will be in a circle that fits exactly into the pan.*** I did have excess batter and used another pan so I could taste it. It is very rich and heavy. Just like a fruitcake should be. I have never had nuts in a fruitcake and don't know if I really like them in there. It took THREE AND A HALF HOURS to bake at the stated temperature. It is now in the fridge and covered with alfoil in a cake container sprinkled with a mix of frangelico (hazelnut liquor) and brandy and bourbon every 2 - 3 day. I will update after Xmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I love this recipe. I did change a few things, I added choc. chips and dried cherries instead of raisins. And I used rum. I also put the cake in small loaf pans instead of a bundt pan. I think the baking time is off as it took more than 2 hours instead of the 1 recommended. I got rave reviews from fruitcake lovers and from non-lovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This is THE perfect fruitcake recipie. The only changes i made were to double the amount of brandy and used it to soak the fruits for 24 hours before making the cake. Good cake texture and not too much fruit. The cake mixture, using four eggs, filled an eight inch round tin and took THREE AND A HALF HOURS to bake at the stated temperature. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This is a delicious cake but I found I had to cook it much longer than an hour. Did anyone else have a problem with timing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This is a great recipe! It's like no other fruitcake that I've ever tasted. Everyone should try this! It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States