Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was my first time making fruitcake and it turned out excellent. I'm giving the recipe 4 stars instead of 5 because it needs some modifications. I followed the advice of past reviewers--I soaked the dried fruit in brandy for a day and I baked the fruitcake for 3 hours at 225. I used dried cherries, cranberries, and apricots (in addition to the raisins). Another modification I made was to cut the spices in half. I like a lot of spices, but I feel that if I had put in the amount in the recipe it would have been overpowering. I doubled the recipe and it filled 6 medium loaf pans (I think they were 3 x 5). My husband and I sampled one of the loaves right out of the oven and it was delicious. I have the remaining loaves resting in the refrigerator and will drizzle brandy on them occasionally. I will add more information to this review after the loaves have sat for a couple of weeks. I think that there could have been more fruit and nuts added but I'll see what it tastes like after it has sat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINAHAWKINS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This cake is awesome!!!!! It will be part of our Christmas from now on. I have always hated fruitcake, but not anymore. Thank you so much for sharing a part of your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was my first fruit cake I made and I am glad I chose this one. Everyone who tried the cake LOVED IT - even those who do not like fruit and brandy :) It took about 3 hours to bake. I changed the recipe a little bit - for the fruits I used raisins, dried cranberries, dried cherries and apricots (I LOVE apricots)..and it turned out really good. This was a very rich and flavorful cake! I will make it again and will be come the 'aunt who brings fruit cake to Christmas' :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Very good cake. It takes long time to bake, but it's wort it. I used apple sauce instead of butter and added little orange juice instead of the 4 egg, i had only 3. It came very good and everybody loved it. I'm baking it second time now:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I made this cake yesterday for 16 servings. I too had a problem with the timing and such a slow oven. I increased the temp towards the last 40 minutes to 250. It took almost 2 1/2 hours to bake. Does anyone else think a higher temp would have been OK with less baking time, without sacrificing texture and taste? I want to make another one that's lighter in color. I took the cake out of the pan after 10 minutes of cooling and it came out perfectly. Loosen the edges with a knife before removing. Also, I wrapped mine in cheesecloth before putting it in foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe was so good. I've never liked fruitcake and neither have most of the other people who tried this one and loved it. I soaked the fruit in brandy for a few days and then added the additional brandy required by the recipe. I used pecans. Baked for about 1 hour and 10 minutes and only added the additional tablespoons of brandy twice (it smelled so strong I decided to leave it alone). Waited only 2.5 weeks and it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I had to cook this cake just over 2.5 hours to get it done. After cooling, it crumbled when coming out of the pan. I drizzled with brandy for 2 weeks anyway, but was very disappointed with the out come. Way too much spice; cloves especially. I made this for my dad who loves good fruitcake but this was not high on his list. Will try another recipe next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bonnieville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made it with rum instead of brandy. However my family could not wait a week to let the alcohol soak. It was absoulutely delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I have to say the initial flavor of the batter was good. However, after sitting and curing the taste of cloves was so strong that we couldn't eat it. I was so upset. I think it would be good if there were actually no cloves in there at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefani Buhajla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I followed the recipe faithfully,and had enough left over to make 4 little fruit cake muffins..they were cooked perfectly in 1 hour,but the cake took 3 hours to cook in a bundt pan,very tasty,I will use this recipe again,but halve the quantities,also,I soaked the fruit for 24 hours in brandy before making the cake,maybe that is why it took so long to cook,it is so beautifully moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States