Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I am not a fan of fruitcake, however my boyfriend is. I made this cake last year for my boyfriend, and by the way it was the first time I had ever made fruitcake. He loved it!!!! I will be making it again this week and sending it to him in Africa where he is stationed. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Is it just me or is there WAY too much butter here? 1 and a half cups? My fruitcake was oozing oil, plus it took 5 hours to bake at 110 degrees C, I wrapped the half baked fruit cake in punctured foil and baked it on top of a muffin pan and gathered 1 full muffin mould of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I have never liked fruitcake, but my dad LOVES it. Every Christmas, someone buys him a crappy fruitcake from the store and he talks about the homemade fruitcake his mom used to make. So this year i decided to make him one from scratch. Not only did my dad love it - I LOVED IT. It was like a really spicey spice cake with fruit and alcohol. How can you lose?? It was a lot of work, and took about 3 hours to cook through, but it was worth it. This might have to be a new holiday tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I really like the initial flavor of the cake itself, but the brandy ruined it for me. We didn't use cheap brandy. The problem was that I couldn't get the alcohol out of the cake once we added all that brandy to it over a two week period like the recipe says. I even tried baking the cake at 250 degrees for 15 minutes to bake out the alcohol. That just made the edges of the cake hard and chewy, which actually wasn't terrible, but it wasn't what the cake was supposed to be like. This cake is too expensive to mess up. Next time (if there is a next time), we'll omit the two weeks of seasoning the cake with brandy and just eat it right away. The 3 stars are for the cake itself, the two remaining stars were left off b/c of the terrible alcohol taste from adding the brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I absolutely love this fruitcake. I've been babying it with rum for almost 2 weeks and had to have some. It is the best, darkest, richest fruitcake I've ever had; and I love fruitcake. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This fruitcake is excellent. I made it as a gift for a family member and they can't stop raving about it to everyone. Cooked a little batter in 2 ramkins just so I would know how it tased and it was so moist. I am not usually a fruit cake fan, but this was really good. Will make for gifts again. I think next year I will use mini bunt pans and wrap with celophane for a little christmas treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I am giving this a 2 star because I think the recipe needs modifications. The cloves were way too overpowering. I also think it calls for way too much brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is better than any fruitcake I've ever had. I used dried cranberries, mango, papaya, dates, raisins, and a few others and pecans. Most people don't like fruitcake, so I call it my Holiday Cake and they love it and ask for more. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I am new to baking fruit cakes, and this cake was not done after 1 hour. I recommend baking for 3.5 hours, but maybe that's my oven. The instructions also do not say to invert the cake on a cooling rack after about 5 minutes cooling in the pan, especially if you do not line the pan with parchment paper. If the cake cools completely in the pan (and you've only greased and floured) there is a chance that it will break apart when the pan is inverted. That said, I have yet to taste the cake after it mellows for a couple weeks. I'm hoping it will taste ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
OMG ... this is the BEST ... I cannot imagine why anyone would not like this fruitcake ... the only thing I changed was I used only one tablespoon of cloves, because they can so easily be overwhelming, and that seemed like a problem some people were having ... other than that, I went by the recipe, including baking in a pretty bundt pan ... it baked for 3 hours (I think that must be a typo in the recipe--there is no way this thing could could in one hour) ... and I allowed it to cool completely before attempting to take it out of my pan ... it popped right out, and it is gorgeous ... it overflowed a bit, but that was okay, because I was able to eat the edges, and they were amazing ... I cannot wait until Christmas to eat and share the rest with dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States