Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
First, it takes much longer than one hour to cook. Second, it is far too spicy. I would not try this one again; too many adjustments would have to be made to make it palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
this one did not turn-up as i was hoping too.... the nutmeg was wayy too much for this recipes it gives an after taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
WHAT THE HECK HAPPENED? This is the first fruitcake I have ever made. i love fruitcake, but this one just didn't do it for me. i need to get my mother-in-law's recipe. It was better, but I'd only give hers a 3+. Maybe it was me that messed this up, but I made it according to recipe and the picture says it all. The flavor was ok but it just didn't turn out the way I expected. Fruitcakes are costly to make, & I just expected 'better'. Maybe I'll have better luck with a different recipe. Since I LOVE fruitcake, I might try again...& maybe I'll have better luck next time. The brandy everyday for 2 weeks? Way too much, too soggy...but I'll try again next year, maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I followed the instructions to make this cake. I was looking for a recipe to suite my tastes. This one was good but not what I was looking for. It had a strong spice taste, have to admitt the brandy was good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I feel real bad giving this such a low rating but I saw all the stars and automatically started to make it..when I got to the spices and started measuring I thought"whew!!That's a lot of cloves!!" I continued and whoa it's just too much..I think if you halved all the spices it would be better. It's easy to mix up tsp and Tbsp,maybe that happened?? Mainly too much cloves and allspice!! All due respect to your dear grandmother..I raised the heat to 325 and kept an eye on it,used 1 med and 2 smaller loaf pans..took over an hour and a half..a good white frosting helped cut the spice,it tasted like clove cake and was a little crumbly coming out of the pan(s)other than that,edible, but sorry its too spicy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I was looking for a recipe that didn't have "candied" fruit and this recipe was fantastic! The entire family loved it and my daughter-in-law introduced it to her Swedish parents! They don't have fruitcake in Sweden but they absolutely raved about this recipe! Even though it took a lot of time to make and than follow-up with brandy, it was well worth watching people's faces, especially those who say they never like fruitcake until now. I will be making it a holiday tradition with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENVG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
A truly excellent, spicy fruitcake. I made three batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I was a little confused by the dried mixed fruit which can vary depending on where you happen to be but I used raisins, sultans, cranberries and currents. I soak the fruit in booze over night first and wow, I only tasted a small piece but this was wonderful, needed 2 + hours though but I used a Bundt tin which may have made a difference. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Good tasting - more like a Christmas steamed pudding. Had to bake it at 250 for three hours. I agree with the reviews that said 225 was too low and 1 hour was too short of baking time. Next time I'll use less butter. More like a Christmas steamed pudding. Sure don't have to keep soaking it with booze until Christmas like we've done in the past. Will probably go back to my old recipe next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Me

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I have made this delicious cake for several years and love it and give it as gifts. It is the best! I added more fruit and nuts than called for and used pitted dates, pecans, dried appricots, dried cranberries and dried cherries and more brandy. I tried cutting down on butter, but it definitely did not come out as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States