Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
A family friend said it was the best fruitcake she ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
it is nice to make it made it already
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Most delicious. Chewy yet moist. I doubled the portions as i wanted to give as christmas gifts. I used 1 cup of butter instead of 1.5 cups. Also substituted with currants and dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
WAY TOO MUCH SPICE!!!!!! Threw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
With notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
i never soak my fruitcakes. so idk. and expensive?? hm?? funy how i seem to be lucky enough for it not to be. this recipe was good. thank your grandma for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nora Dahlstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quinton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was my first attempt at making a fruit cake ever. Totally ruined and wasted all those ingredients! Oven temp said 225 and cook for 1 hour. It was far from being done. Spices were too potent - thinking whomever typed this meant TEASPOONS instead of Tablespoons?! Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great fruitcake recipe. I love the fact that no candied fruit is called for (though I did place candied cherries in the bundt before pouring the batter to make it look more festive), and I used a combo of dates, raisins, plums, and apricots with walnuts and pecans. Soaked the fruit in brandy for a couple of hours, and have been alternating brandy and amaretto to dribble over it every day or two. Will be added as one of the few go-to fruitcake recipes in my book (I do like fruitcake, so I need more than one)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I found this recipe in 2005 and have made it every year since! I don't like fruitcake but this one is out of this world delicious!!!! I look forward to every Christmas so I can make it. 2 hours baking in the oven and it comes out perfect. Thanks Roxy and your grandmother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I made this last year for the first time and everyone loved it! I am making two fruitcakes this weekend for this holiday season. My cake also baked my cake for nearly 3 hours. I made some slight adjustments - I'm not a huge fan of raisins so for the 1 1/2 cups of raisins, I used a mixture of raisins, dried cherries, dried blueberries and dried cranberries. For the nuts, I only used pecans. Looking forward to making it and gifting it this holiday season season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States