Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I am giving this a 2 star because I think the recipe needs modifications. The cloves were way too overpowering. I also think it calls for way too much brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry Haas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is better than any fruitcake I've ever had. I used dried cranberries, mango, papaya, dates, raisins, and a few others and pecans. Most people don't like fruitcake, so I call it my Holiday Cake and they love it and ask for more. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I am new to baking fruit cakes, and this cake was not done after 1 hour. I recommend baking for 3.5 hours, but maybe that's my oven. The instructions also do not say to invert the cake on a cooling rack after about 5 minutes cooling in the pan, especially if you do not line the pan with parchment paper. If the cake cools completely in the pan (and you've only greased and floured) there is a chance that it will break apart when the pan is inverted. That said, I have yet to taste the cake after it mellows for a couple weeks. I'm hoping it will taste ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fluteplayer35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
OMG ... this is the BEST ... I cannot imagine why anyone would not like this fruitcake ... the only thing I changed was I used only one tablespoon of cloves, because they can so easily be overwhelming, and that seemed like a problem some people were having ... other than that, I went by the recipe, including baking in a pretty bundt pan ... it baked for 3 hours (I think that must be a typo in the recipe--there is no way this thing could could in one hour) ... and I allowed it to cool completely before attempting to take it out of my pan ... it popped right out, and it is gorgeous ... it overflowed a bit, but that was okay, because I was able to eat the edges, and they were amazing ... I cannot wait until Christmas to eat and share the rest with dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
this is BY FAR the BEST FRUITCAKE I have EVER put to my face ! I had to make 2 for thanksgiving and I KNOW I'll have to make at least 2 more for Christmas. A NEW tradition for me! VERY moist and VERY delicious ! NO MORE STORE BOUGHT for ME ! THANK YOU for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This had way too much butter! It spilled all over my oven and was a mess to clean up. you could probably use half the amount of butter and still have a moist cake. We wrapped the cakes in cheese cloth that had been dipped in rum, then stored them in zip-lock bags in a cool dark place for a month before eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was my first time ever baking a fruit cake, and I am so glad I used this recipe! It turned out great! At first, I was worried about leaving the cake for two weeks, but as it turns out, fruitcake really does taste better as it ages. I decided to use this recipe to bake a cake in a 9-inch round pan, so I cut the amount of ingredients accordingly. I also added more candied fruit and put in less raisins (personal preference). The cake turned out moist, rich, and flavorful. It was much better than ANYTHING you could buy in any bakery. Just make sure you use high quality brandy! You can really taste the difference. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 44benny44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
well its still winter here, had the urge to make fruitcake...this is a fantastic recipe! If you like dense, moist and dark!! which i do..I did a mod or two..but the basic recipe i have made before and was just wonderful...my mods..1 cup butter with 1/2 cup oil..1/4 c molasses added, added 2 tsp ginger and used pecans and used rum.....this provided a very fruity, dense, nutty,and moist cake...it did take one bundt pan and two mini's and yes it takes about 3 hrs to bake..worth every moment...will be making a rum cream sauce to go over it. remember this is a dense dense cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
don't like it sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was my first time making fruitcake and it turned out excellent. I'm giving the recipe 4 stars instead of 5 because it needs some modifications. I followed the advice of past reviewers--I soaked the dried fruit in brandy for a day and I baked the fruitcake for 3 hours at 225. I used dried cherries, cranberries, and apricots (in addition to the raisins). Another modification I made was to cut the spices in half. I like a lot of spices, but I feel that if I had put in the amount in the recipe it would have been overpowering. I doubled the recipe and it filled 6 medium loaf pans (I think they were 3 x 5). My husband and I sampled one of the loaves right out of the oven and it was delicious. I have the remaining loaves resting in the refrigerator and will drizzle brandy on them occasionally. I will add more information to this review after the loaves have sat for a couple of weeks. I think that there could have been more fruit and nuts added but I'll see what it tastes like after it has sat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINAHAWKINS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States