Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
A truly excellent, spicy fruitcake. I made three batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I was a little confused by the dried mixed fruit which can vary depending on where you happen to be but I used raisins, sultans, cranberries and currents. I soak the fruit in booze over night first and wow, I only tasted a small piece but this was wonderful, needed 2 + hours though but I used a Bundt tin which may have made a difference. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bedelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Good tasting - more like a Christmas steamed pudding. Had to bake it at 250 for three hours. I agree with the reviews that said 225 was too low and 1 hour was too short of baking time. Next time I'll use less butter. More like a Christmas steamed pudding. Sure don't have to keep soaking it with booze until Christmas like we've done in the past. Will probably go back to my old recipe next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Me

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I have made this delicious cake for several years and love it and give it as gifts. It is the best! I added more fruit and nuts than called for and used pitted dates, pecans, dried appricots, dried cranberries and dried cherries and more brandy. I tried cutting down on butter, but it definitely did not come out as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I am not a fan of fruitcake, however my boyfriend is. I made this cake last year for my boyfriend, and by the way it was the first time I had ever made fruitcake. He loved it!!!! I will be making it again this week and sending it to him in Africa where he is stationed. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Is it just me or is there WAY too much butter here? 1 and a half cups? My fruitcake was oozing oil, plus it took 5 hours to bake at 110 degrees C, I wrapped the half baked fruit cake in punctured foil and baked it on top of a muffin pan and gathered 1 full muffin mould of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I have never liked fruitcake, but my dad LOVES it. Every Christmas, someone buys him a crappy fruitcake from the store and he talks about the homemade fruitcake his mom used to make. So this year i decided to make him one from scratch. Not only did my dad love it - I LOVED IT. It was like a really spicey spice cake with fruit and alcohol. How can you lose?? It was a lot of work, and took about 3 hours to cook through, but it was worth it. This might have to be a new holiday tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I really like the initial flavor of the cake itself, but the brandy ruined it for me. We didn't use cheap brandy. The problem was that I couldn't get the alcohol out of the cake once we added all that brandy to it over a two week period like the recipe says. I even tried baking the cake at 250 degrees for 15 minutes to bake out the alcohol. That just made the edges of the cake hard and chewy, which actually wasn't terrible, but it wasn't what the cake was supposed to be like. This cake is too expensive to mess up. Next time (if there is a next time), we'll omit the two weeks of seasoning the cake with brandy and just eat it right away. The 3 stars are for the cake itself, the two remaining stars were left off b/c of the terrible alcohol taste from adding the brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I absolutely love this fruitcake. I've been babying it with rum for almost 2 weeks and had to have some. It is the best, darkest, richest fruitcake I've ever had; and I love fruitcake. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This fruitcake is excellent. I made it as a gift for a family member and they can't stop raving about it to everyone. Cooked a little batter in 2 ramkins just so I would know how it tased and it was so moist. I am not usually a fruit cake fan, but this was really good. Will make for gifts again. I think next year I will use mini bunt pans and wrap with celophane for a little christmas treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States