Fruit and Vegetable Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I admit it, I was a big doubter on this one but I really wanted to try it. My whole family, even 4 kids, loved this. Who would have thought these ingredients combined so well? To make it a quicker recipe though, I browned the chops, removed them from the pan, then sauteed the onions in the drippings. In a separate bowl, I put in my chopped Granny Smith apples and then sprinkled the corn starch over these and tossed it to coat. I only had a 14 oz. can of sauerkraut, so I increased brown sugar to 3/4 cup. I then added the sauerkraut, brown sugar, and sauteed onion with all the drippings to the apples and mixed well. I placed the pork chops in a casserole dish, covered them with the sauerkraut mixture, covered with foil and baked for 45 minutes at 350. Perfect! Served with potato perogies and crusty bread. One of the few nights where there were no leftovers to put away. This is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This was very good and satisfying. I followed the advice of a previous reviewer and added a cup of water, then let simmer for about an hour. I added an extra tablespoon of cornstarch due to the extra liquid. The porkchops were very tender and my husband said they were the best he had ever eaten. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
Really good recipe, but you know that every cook has to add their own personality to the dish, so here are the "enhancements" that I made. I used all ingredients except the vegetable oil and cornstarch, and I used a 12 ounce package of refrigerated sauerkraut, so I increased the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. I sprayed a skillet with Pam, and browned the chops. I removed the chops, and sauteed the onion in the same pan until tender. In the meantime, I mixed the kraut, brown sugar and apples, added the sauteed onion, deglazed the pan and added the drippings to the kraut mixture and seasoned it with salt and pepper. I love my slow cooker, so I place the chops in the bottom, and poured the rest of the mixture over the top. Cooked it on low for about 6 hours. The chops were tender, the sauerkraut nicely sweet and sour and my husband ate every bite, which is my barometer of a good recipe. Definitely added this one to my recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This was so fast and easy... and delicious! I must admit, when I saw the results sitting in the pan, I was more than a little nervous. But that first bite was a pleasant surprise. Good German fare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Very yummy, I just threw it all into the crockpot (minus the corn starch) on high for 4 or so hours and the chops were very (almost falling apart) tender. Very good with buttered egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This was great and easy, will definately make it again. Didn't change a thing. However, I had very large pork chops (better for stuffing) and I would recommend making this recipe with thinner pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This was great. Don't add extra water, unless your sauerkraut is very dry. We found the sauerkraut liquid was more than adequate. I used a mix of golden delicious and granny smith apples with this. The flavor was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This is a real man pleaser. It works with almost any cut of prok. I used it with country ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
WOW! What a surprise! I was a little scared to try this recipe because of the ingredients, but with the good reviews, I had to try. I am so glad I did! The flavor is great. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSchritter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2001
Excellent! This was very easy and relatively quick, would've been great for a weeknight. I actually used pears instead of apples, since that was what I had in the house. It probably made it a bit milder than it would have been with apples, but no less delicious. Kids loved too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States