Fruit and Vegetable Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I admit it, I was a big doubter on this one but I really wanted to try it. My whole family, even 4 kids, loved this. Who would have thought these ingredients combined so well? To make it a quicker recipe though, I browned the chops, removed them from the pan, then sauteed the onions in the drippings. In a separate bowl, I put in my chopped Granny Smith apples and then sprinkled the corn starch over these and tossed it to coat. I only had a 14 oz. can of sauerkraut, so I increased brown sugar to 3/4 cup. I then added the sauerkraut, brown sugar, and sauteed onion with all the drippings to the apples and mixed well. I placed the pork chops in a casserole dish, covered them with the sauerkraut mixture, covered with foil and baked for 45 minutes at 350. Perfect! Served with potato perogies and crusty bread. One of the few nights where there were no leftovers to put away. This is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This is surprizingly very, very good! I was skeptical at first, but like trying new things. And I'm glad I did! I will say that you should definitely let it cook for the recommended 15-20 minutes so that the flavors can cook together. I tasted it early on, and it wasn't very good. I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only changes I made were: I used less brown sugar, just because I didn't have enough; I didn't use corn starch, because I didn't think it needed it; I used an entire onion; I used the whole can of sauerkraut. If you like sauerkraut, I would recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This was good. It had a lot of flavor, but I couldn't help but think it was missing something. I don't know. Maybe I will try breading the pork chops, and adding the topping after the fact. I don't know if I would make it as is again, but I think it is a great platform to expand upon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLYNN6841

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
WOW!!! This was the best recipe I have made so far. It was sweet and slightly sour and the perfect alternative to plain chops. I added some more brown sugar just to give it some more substance. This will be a staple in my recipe book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Loved this recipe!!! I followed others advice and cut down on the brown sugar. What a clever & simple way to dress up pork chops. And the meat turned out very tender & juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Very good. Maybe a little too sweet. I might try cutting down on the brown sugar a little next time. Quick and simple to prepare. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I made this because I wanted to make something different than our usual fare. Everyone in my family thought it was okay, but I don't think we liked it enough to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I didn't really like this meal. I think it's only because it's not something I'm used to eating, the flavors were just too strange for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
WOW! I love this recipe. I used stir fry pork strips because it's what I had. I also used a whole can of sauerkraut (undrained) so I didn't have a partial can hanging around and left the brown sugar as is. I served it over buttered egg noodles. Yum! My 16 month old loved it and my husband, who hates sweet foods, raved over this recipe! I can't wait to make it again! Thank you Shirl Soots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I followed the directions exactly but had to cook the pork about 5 extra minutes. I chopped the onions and apples into bigger pieces, so the cornstarch helped thicken the juice from the apples and sauerkraut. I really enjoyed the sauce more than the pork, but that may be because I ate too much. It was good, definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States