Fruit and Vegetable Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
My family loved this. I doubled the recipe somewhat and used 8 chops, a huge 32oz. bag of sauerkraut, 2 apples, 3/4 cup of brown sugar, 2 onions, about 1/4 cup of white wine vinegar, & pepper. I might even add more apples & onions next time! Made some garlic mashed red potatoes with it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I don't care for pork chops or sauerkraut and LOVED this. Instead of doing 4 chops only did 2 (normally hubby is the only one who'll eat chops). Next time I make I'll definitely make the 4 chops but will double the rest of the ingredients (they were THAT good!). I never added brown sugar to sauerkraut before but loved the result. Will make again and again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEALCALF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Very Good! I followed the recipe exactly as written. The only problem I had was the ingredients say diced apples and the instructions call for sliced apples. I went with the diced apples and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
It was great, but a little sweet. I'd recommend using a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a great recipe. We lent our slow cooker to friends, so I used the suggestion to roast it for 40 mins on 350. Came out perfect! I also used 3 apples, 1 cup of sugar and a 21 oz can of sauerkraut undrained which helped keep the pork moist and tender. I will definately use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I don't like sauerkraut but I really liked this recipe. It was very tasty. I used pears instead of apples. The only downfall was that the pork as a bit tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
So easy and so delicious. This is one of my husband's favorite pork recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I absolutely love this dish! Doesn't need the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
WOW! This was great! I halved the recipe, left out the oil and cornstarch and did as another reviewer suggested: threw it all in the crockpot. 2.5-3 hours and done! So easy! So good... I don't like pork chops, but the toppings were great! My boyfriend loved this, said it was one of my best. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I admit it, I was a big doubter on this one but I really wanted to try it. My whole family, even 4 kids, loved this. Who would have thought these ingredients combined so well? To make it a quicker recipe though, I browned the chops, removed them from the pan, then sauteed the onions in the drippings. In a separate bowl, I put in my chopped Granny Smith apples and then sprinkled the corn starch over these and tossed it to coat. I only had a 14 oz. can of sauerkraut, so I increased brown sugar to 3/4 cup. I then added the sauerkraut, brown sugar, and sauteed onion with all the drippings to the apples and mixed well. I placed the pork chops in a casserole dish, covered them with the sauerkraut mixture, covered with foil and baked for 45 minutes at 350. Perfect! Served with potato perogies and crusty bread. One of the few nights where there were no leftovers to put away. This is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States