Fruit and Nut Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I read the reviews about the runniness, so I left out the pineapple and lemon juices. Made this morning for the evening's dinner, and consistency was good with using only orange Greek yogurt. I did squeeze just a little lemon juice over the bananas to keep them from discoloring. The one thing that I didn't like was that the bananas turned mushy after being refrigerated all day. If I were to to anything differently the next time, it would be to cut back the walnuts a little (personal taste preference). I liked the sweetness contrast with the crunchiness of the cabbage, but I don't know overall if I liked this well enough to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Really good! I used a 6 oz. yogurt and omitted the pineapple juice and it wasn't watery. I also used pineapple tidbits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Pretty good. I liked how it used orange yogurt for a different kind of slaw. I didn't use the pineapple juice. I think this helped not to be so runny as others had complained about. I also used orange juice instead of lemon juice. Allergic to nuts, so skipped it. I did add a dash of vinegar for a little tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This is a nice change from traditional fruit salad. It tastes GREAT and is healthy! I used less celery,also used golden/white raisens,pecans and whipped orange yogurt. The lemon juice prevents the banana from turning so it does make the salad a little runny- the extra moisture collects at the bottom of the bowl so just mix well before serving or drain a little off,mix and serve--it will not compromise any flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I didn't have all of the ingredients to make the salad, but enough to get the idea . . . Received compliments on it. I'm looking forward to making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Mmmmm. This was a hit with my family. I tweeked the recipe just a little though. I sustituted macadamian nuts in place of walnuts. I also sprinkled each seving with some shredded coconut. And because i don't care for celery i passed on that. My banana's came out just fine, turning was not a problem for me. If you allow the banan's to soak up the lemon juice they shouldn't turn. Thanks for the salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I doubled this recipe to take to a potluck and recieved rave reviews! I'm allergic to walnuts, so I used pecans instead. The salad does get a bit watery if you let it sit for a while, but stir it a little and it's fine. Great summer recipe -- I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Delicious--a nice change for a salad recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This salad was ok, it was crunchy and had some flavor. But, I found it a bit watery, had to drain it off a little before serving. Next time will try to adjust the ingredients a little. Also, the Banana turned, so next time will try something like Mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
Interesting flavor but not interesting enough to add to my recipe file
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homurf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States