Fruit and Cream Phyllo Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Okay. Not fabulous. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
It was really good!!! Definitely a solid 4 stars (if I could give it 4 1/2, I would!! I used blueberry pie filling, but otherwise followed the recipe. The only change I would make would be to either make the crust on top thicker, or leave it off entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Heroux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Very good! I used splenda instead of sugar and butter cooking spray instead of butter. For the fruit I used peaches. My husband went back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This worked out great. Instead of pie filling, I used sliced strawberries lightly dusted with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Everyone I've made this dessert for has loved it, they don't even realize that they're eating a much healthier dessert than usual! I usually make half of the recipe in a pie pan, which means half the phyllo dough, and I fold over all the edges to make a strange looking little tart thing. Strange, but delicious! I only use egg whites and not a whole egg, and I use light cream cheese. I usually top half with fresh chopped strawberries and the other half with raspberries/blackberries and blueberries, so people can choose whichever they like better. And I use spray Crisco butter instead of brushing the sheets with butter, much faster and lighter this way! I top it with powdered sugar after it's finished baking. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kieria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Very good, the Phyllo crust is time consuming, would make again with a normal crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This recipe was wonderful. I will definitely use it again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
The cream cheese filling would be better with the addition of sour cream. I didn't care for this warm; it was better after it chilled. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Photo by CJ
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Recieved absolutely rave reviews, though I myself wasn't as crazy about it. I used blueberry pie filling. The cream cheese mix was very delicious, but I think I might have done better using a different filling. It definitely wasn't your traditional pie, and you shouldn't expect it to act exactly like one. It was very tasty though, and easy for what it was. My mom said it might have been the best thing she ever had, though that might have been heat of the moment reviewing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This pie was ok. I was not crazy about it, neither were my kids. I also think that this would have been much better with a real pie crust. The pie fell apart and the crust was just not enough for us. I used berries instead of apples and they did taste good but IF I made this again I would use a different crust. The phyllo was not that easy to work with but you do get the hang of it. Just remember the damp towel so it does not dry out. I just do not see me making this again. My kids did have fun with the phyllo though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States