Fruit Salsa with Cinnamon Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Delicious tortillas, but it's not necessary to fry these. I lightly brushed melted butter over the tortillas, sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar and just baked. The sugar caramalized beautifully and the kids said they tasted like Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal. Due to fruit allergies, I had to eliminate the apples and kiwi, but it was still wonderful just with the berries and bananas. If you have any leftover chips, use them as a base and top with caramel swirl icecream, caramel sauce, chocolate whipped cream and a few chocolate curls. Makes a really pretty presentation! Thanks Crissy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I too sprayed my chips w/ butter flavor spray & then sprinkled w/ cinamon sugar & baked at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes. I added blueberries to the mix & I didn't peel my apple. The only thing I iwll do differently next time is dip the apple pieces in some lemon juice to prevent discoloring. My guests really enjoyed this...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Also added: fresh pineapple, red grapes, pears, and mandrin oranges, didn't use banana though. Used Fruit Fresh too to keep colors bright. This is an awesome appetizer to serve guests, tastes like fresh fruit pie. Chopping isn't too tedious if you used a chopper (mine is by Pampered Chef) *kids love to help chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Wow! This needs to come with a warning: Highly Addictive! This was a beautiful combination of colors and flavors. And no matter what assortment of fresh fruit you use it's bound to be good so use your favorites and use the recipe as a guide. I added chopped peaches to mine I baked the chips vs. frying to keep this a little healthier and lower in fat. So, for the cinnamon chips I used reduced fat tortillas and cut them with a pizza cutter which made things a lot easier. I sprayed them with butter flavored Pam and sprinkled them with the cinnamon sugar. I baked them at 350 for 8 minutes flipped them and baked them for another 7 minutes. They were crispy, sweet and delicious - next time I would double the amount because they went fast. This got a lot of compliments not only for taste, but for creativity. I'll definitely make this again - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I'm going to be one of those people you hate, because I'm rating this from the original recipe and the modifications I made. I don't think I would've liked the salsa if I had followed the recipe to a T. My salsa: 2 kiwi, 2 mangos, 2 pink ladies, 8oz raspberries, 2 tsp sugar, 3 tbsp strawberry preserves, and some lime juice to prevent oxidation of the banana and apple. Chips I used cinnamon sugar from Whole Foods. Next time I might cut down on the apple and add another fruit (blueberries or peaches or both)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornpop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This is my new favorite appetizer. I used frozen strawberries and omitted the bananas and served with wheat thin chips instead of the chips noted here due to time constraints. I couldn't stop eating them. Got rave reviews from others too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taylorselby
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Today, I went to school, I had a test in science and I think I did pretty well. I came over to my friend Laura's house. We went to the store with her brother. When we were in the car, we heard Boys Like Girls, but I personally like boys. Then we heard Taylor Swift and Doug (the brother previously mentioned) is in love with Taylor Swift. I mean, not a celebrity crush. He is convinced he will marry her. Don't be surprised if the next headline is "Taylor Swift engaged to.... Doug?" He freaked out and started singing along to the song. He almost crashed the car! He's not the best at driving stick shift but he thinks he is... SEW we just play along. We bought some stuff to make drink concoctions that can't be said, because they are secret, but they were good!!! Then we got home. We decided to play truth or dare, and we did some pretty nasty dares. I had to lick the floor! (Yes, we're 5 years old.) THEN, Laura had this great idea to make these chips! We went on Google and searched: Mexican cinnamon sugar tortilla chips. Then, we decided we didn't need the Mexican part so we took that out. And guess what popped up? This recipe! We just made them as they were directed (the baked version) We had to make some revisions though. We put the tortilla triangles in a bowl and covered them with Pam (the cooking spray) We tossed them around with some cinnamon sugar and baked 'em. Then we plated them with some whipped cream. They were very good, though the time stated was incorrect. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taylorselby
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Alternate method for cinn. chips: Cut tortillas as described into equal wedges. Place on wax or parchment paper in single layer; spray both sides with buttered flavored oil. Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar on both sides; bake for 7 minutes in 350 degree oven. Delish! A bit messy getting cinn. sugar everywhere! Worth it! These are very good with the fruit salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Nice, refreshing. I brought it to a baby shower and it was a hit. As always, I didn't measure exact amounts but used all the ingredients listed and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This has become a favorite at our house. I spray the chips with Pam and then sprinkle them with the cin./sugar mix and bake. Everyone is always asking for the recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States