Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This brings me back to childhood! Love this recipe and agree-you can add whatever fruits you prefer. We used a can of mixed fruits,small can of mandarin oranges, small jar of maraschino cherries, small can of pineapple chunks, about a 1/4 c of flaked coconut and 8 oz sour cream (enough to moisten) like the idea of adding marshmallows before serving-will try this for Christmas. I usually make this for Easter dinner and I like to use the fruity kind of marshmallows for the pretty pastel colors! If people didnt know it was sour cream they couldnt tell. People have asked me why dont I just use cool-whip and I say that would make it unbearably sweet, sour cream is just right!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Dodds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This has been a tradition at our holiday meals for at least 30 years. We add a couple cups of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
My family has traditional made a version of this salad every major holiday for as long as I can remember. And I am over 60 years old. We use the ingredients listed plus apples, bananas, grapes, dates and either pecans or walnuts. We also use sweet cream instead of sour cream. And it is impossible to decide whether to consume during the main meal or as dessert or simply to eat it till it is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
It tasted good. However, if I was to do it over again I would do less marshmallows, (I think less than half of what it calls for) and more fruit, probably put some bananas in there too, and more thoroughly drain all the fruit. That's more like a mistake on my part. It was too soupy. But like I said before I loved that taste of it all together. And it's true, it's even better the longer it refrigerates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Great Fruit Salad, it was requested that I bing to Thanksgiving dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is delicious. However, I used fresh pineapple and added some grapes. I added a small box of dry instant vanilla pudding and some juice from the marashino cherries jar to the sour cream, which kind of kicked it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
love this recipe. I add fruit cocktail and cut up sliced peaches also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Simple and good. Definitely a bit more of a dessert than a salad though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I only had 1/3 of the marshmellows it called for so I used that many. It was a great salad--I don't know why it called for that many--I will always make it with 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This is a family tradtion at our home with a few changes. I drain all my fruit the overnight and the next morning mix sour cream, marshmellows, pinapples, oranges and then I use a few cans of mixed fruit instead of the cherries then mix it all together. Then we take the fruit juice and make our family punch. My children come home every Holiday expecting it! Its a healthy and delicious receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States