Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
This is a tangy treat to be thankful for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
I didn't use all of the marshmallows, that seemed like too many. But it was very quick and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This didn't go over well at our holiday dessert table. Alittle too strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
The sour cream gave it a wonderfully tangy, creamy texture but wayyyyy too many marshmallows. I'll try using 8 oz marshmallows next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I added 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts and I sliced frozen strawberries in half. I really liked this recipe, but it makes enough for 10 to 12 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Don't wait for holidays to make this salad! If you're sick of whipped cream, cool whip and mayonnaise adorning your salads, then this one is for you! The sour cream dressing is wonderful, not too sweet or heavy. Sometimes I add just a touch of orange or lemon extract to the sour cream.I usually halve it, then use very few marshmallows (too sweet). Sometimes I add a banana or two and leave out the marshmallows completely. Thanks Tina.This is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
My dear mom passed down this recipe, it has been in our family many years and is almost identical to this. It is called Ambrosia Salad. It is my family's favorite. It calls for 1/4 c. shredded coconut(leave out if don't like), but it gives a nice flavor and sweetness to this, 1 c. sour cream or enough to moisten, 1 c. grapes halved, 1 c. mandarin oranges drained( I use more), 1 c. mini marshmellows and 1 c. crushed pineapple drained. Double for large crowds. You can basically add the fruits you like and mix with sour cream until your liking. I think the cherries is a great addition!We especially like this in the summer months but get cravings for it year round! My daughter begs me to make this all the time! This recipe is so close to this and that is why I gave it 5*. I think any way you make will be great! Thanks Tina for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This was way too sweet for us. Might be improved by using much fewer marshmellows. Made it when my grandkids were here and even they wouldn't eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
this is a very simple, and delicious recipe. I also eat it every Thanksgiving. You can add coconut, but it's great just like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Rocker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I love this salad. It tastes so good. If you let it sit in the fridge awhile, the marshmallows absorb the juice and get soft and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States