Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Yummo! Our family's new super fast throw together dessert. I just added fresh strawberries and bananas to make it more fresh tasting. Chilled for an hour to allow flavors to mix then served in wine glasses with few cut up strawberries to make a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Pretty good! I made this for a friend who just had a baby. She has 3 young children, so I made this to entice the little ones. I halved the marshmallows. Next time I will only use 1/2 to 2/3 of the 16 oz container of sour cream instead of the whole thing.. I did use low fat sour cream, and it was delicious. No need to make this fattening. Next time I might add halved green grapes and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Served for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Easy and quick to make. I used the advice of others and halved the recipe. Then I added coconut and used less marshmallows. I also used frozen pineapple (thawed) since that's what I had on hand. I drained all fruit well and the salad wasn't soupy at all. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This brings me back to childhood! Love this recipe and agree-you can add whatever fruits you prefer. We used a can of mixed fruits,small can of mandarin oranges, small jar of maraschino cherries, small can of pineapple chunks, about a 1/4 c of flaked coconut and 8 oz sour cream (enough to moisten) like the idea of adding marshmallows before serving-will try this for Christmas. I usually make this for Easter dinner and I like to use the fruity kind of marshmallows for the pretty pastel colors! If people didnt know it was sour cream they couldnt tell. People have asked me why dont I just use cool-whip and I say that would make it unbearably sweet, sour cream is just right!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Dodds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This has been a tradition at our holiday meals for at least 30 years. We add a couple cups of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
My family has traditional made a version of this salad every major holiday for as long as I can remember. And I am over 60 years old. We use the ingredients listed plus apples, bananas, grapes, dates and either pecans or walnuts. We also use sweet cream instead of sour cream. And it is impossible to decide whether to consume during the main meal or as dessert or simply to eat it till it is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisville, New York, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
It tasted good. However, if I was to do it over again I would do less marshmallows, (I think less than half of what it calls for) and more fruit, probably put some bananas in there too, and more thoroughly drain all the fruit. That's more like a mistake on my part. It was too soupy. But like I said before I loved that taste of it all together. And it's true, it's even better the longer it refrigerates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Great Fruit Salad, it was requested that I bing to Thanksgiving dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is delicious. However, I used fresh pineapple and added some grapes. I added a small box of dry instant vanilla pudding and some juice from the marashino cherries jar to the sour cream, which kind of kicked it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States