Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I needed a fruit salad recipe to bring to a Thanksgiving potluck. This one fit the bill. I was a little apprehensive about the sour cream but it works well in this. I added a touch of powdered sugar like someone had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I love this and have made it for years. I cut or tear the cherries in half. I put the cherries, mandrain oranges and pineapple into a colander and drain the fruit well. I pour the fruit and marshmellows in a bowl and pour in the sour cream and mix well. I let it sit over night in the fridge. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Delicious and refreshing! A classic treat. I decided to let the salad sit in the fridge for a while so the marshmallows would "melt" into the sour cream and sweeten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I make this every Thanksgiving. It is very easy to make and everyone in my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is a really good & quick dessert. I always add a bit of powdered sugar to give it a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a great fruit salad recipe. I made it for my family's Thanksgiving, and then countless dinners at home since then. I love the sour cream (as opposed to a whipped topping). I didn't use all the marshmallows called for as it seemed like a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Doubled recipe except I only used 16 oz. sour cream & 1 - 16 oz. pkg. marshmallows. Very easy prep. & tasty too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
A friend made this at a birthday party and I ate it without knowing what was in it. I was shocked that the creaminess was from sour cream! She said she added all the ingredients except the marshmallows(add them before serving if you don't like mush) and let it set overnight to combine the flavors (and to take away the tang from the sour cream). I tried it at home and used fatfree sour cream with the same results. I also added a little of the cherry juice. Great recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was very good. Made it for playgroup - both the moms & the kids loved it. I added only about 3/4 the marshmallows and sour cream. It was light & not runny at all. Thanks for a quick & easy pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
My mother used to make this wonderful fruit salad that she called "5 Cup Fruit Salad" for every holiday and we all loved it. She recently passed away and I was trying to think of what all we use to put in it and I knew we used marshmellows, cherries, sour cream, canned pineapples and something else. I got on here to see if I could find one similar to hers. Back then they did not have mandarin (spelling?) oranges canned and I think (????) she used fresh oranges and possibly canned pears too. We would add cherry juice to the mixture for a colorful dish and would hold off on the marshmellows until it was about and hour before it was served otherwise it would become mushy. Sprinkly some chopped pecans or walnuts on top. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe so that I too can make this fabulous fruit salad that sound disgusting because of sour cream but is truly refreshing and oh so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States