Fruit Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Great idea, and I do keep pretty close to the recipe. I use roughly equal amounts of orange juice and pineapple juice, with a small amount (maybe 1/4 cup max) sugar, let that simmer for a few minutes, then add a squirt of two of lemon juice and cornstarch-water to thicken. Using flour in this recipe means I'll have lumpy fruit dressing. Anyway, the kids love it, and it's a nice way to elevate a simple bowl of cut fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I didn't have orange juice so I omitted that. I just added a little extra pineapple juice to compensate. It was delicious. I think this is a recipe you can customize based on what you have on hand. It is very easy and a wonderful addition to a basic fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very creamy and flavorful, a perfect compliment to any fruit combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very good dressing! I only added a teaspoon of sugar and used lime instead of lemon. Makes plenty...more than I needed, so I'm going to buy more fruit for the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Just used it for a holiday brunch yesterday on a salad with apples, pears and pomegranates and it worked really well . I also cut back on the sugar a little bit so it wouldn't be quite so sweet, and I used the Dole strawberry/banana/orange blend juice concentrate instead of regular orange juice. Will definitely mark this one for use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was delicious! Everyone at the brunch I took it to raved and requested the recipe. The hostess is not eating sugar right now so I subbed honey for the sugar and made the 1/3 cup of OJ concentrate a little scant to make up for the extra liquid. Also, my lemons were not good anymore so I squeezed in lime juice. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was a great addition to a plain fruit salad, especially during the winter when fruit is not as good. Brought it to our Thanksgiving dinner and had many compliments on how good the salad was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel Valley, California, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Exactly what I was looking for. I didn't think there would be enough, but there ws plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
We never get tired of this wonderful dressing, and it keeps the bananas from turning dark, too. It is the best !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I should have read the description on this. It really is highly citrus tasting dressing. It almost reminded me of slightly bitter oranges. I like that it doesn't mask the flavor of the fruits and it does give them a light glaze, but I was hoping for something a little more mild and a tad sweeter. The fruit salad will all get eaten though. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States