Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
This was good. I added bananas and mandarin oranges, as suggested. Next time, I think I'll mix all the fruit together, then add enough of the condensed milk/whipped topping mixture to moisten. The fruit seemed buried in the topping and I'd like people to see what they're eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This recipe was very good. I used strawberry pie filling instead of the cherry. I also did as the previous reviewer suggested and added the sweetened milk & whipped topping as needed last so it wasn't too soupy. I did notice that the leftovers become too liquidy by the next day so don't make more than you can eat in one meal. I also added drained mandarin oranges and a sliced banana to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Super easy to make. I added a few other fruits and the salad turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paxton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Farmington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Instead of cherry pie filling, I used regular fruit cocktail, but the results were fabulous! It's got to be the sweetened condensed milk. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myra Sarmiento Marangi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
My family has been making this salad for years. We add a can of fruit cocktail along with the other ingredients. Drain the fruit cocktail and the pineapple very well and the salad turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I don't know if I would call this fruit salad because there's not a whole lot of fruit with a lot of the mixture. But it is very tasty for sure. I added a lot of other fruit - apples, bananas, oranges, etc. to make it more "fruit-salad-y," but I think it would be better just as written and eaten as dessert. The pink stuff is very tasty, though and super easy to make with usually on-hand ingredients. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used a jar (without juice) of cherries instead of pie filling. I made it for Christmas dinner, and everyone wanted to take some home! A HUGE hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I followed the recipe, and added 2 cans of mixed fruit and 1 can mandarin oranges. I poured all of the canned fruit into a collander, to make sure it was very well drained. This seemed to help, as the leftovers were not runny the next day. I also added some extra mini marshmallows. I did mix the condensed milk/whipped topping mixture first, as advised, and added to the fruit/marshmallow mixture until I liked the consistency. I took it to a family party, and everyone enjoyed it. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Yummy! I made this this morning and it is delicious. However, I added 2 large bananas that I'd let sit in lime juice for a few minutes, a 15 ounce can of oranges and used 2 cans of tropical fruit salad (with pineapple and papaya and the like) instead of the can of pineapple. Also used tropical fruit marshmallows (which I doubt really affect the flavor but are cute nonetheless). I really don't think just a can of pineapple would have been enough fruit for all that wonderful pink fluff. It still would be good, but not really a fruit salad! I'll make my version of this a lot because it was so yummy and so very cheerful looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I added a sliced banana and used fresh pineapple chunks cut into bite sized pieces (instead of canned pineapple) - Everyone seed to really like it. I served it for a birthday dinner - the birthday girl asked to take the leftovers home! It was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States