Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
This was good. I added bananas and mandarin oranges, as suggested. Next time, I think I'll mix all the fruit together, then add enough of the condensed milk/whipped topping mixture to moisten. The fruit seemed buried in the topping and I'd like people to see what they're eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
My family has been making this salad for years. We add a can of fruit cocktail along with the other ingredients. Drain the fruit cocktail and the pineapple very well and the salad turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This recipe was very good. I used strawberry pie filling instead of the cherry. I also did as the previous reviewer suggested and added the sweetened milk & whipped topping as needed last so it wasn't too soupy. I did notice that the leftovers become too liquidy by the next day so don't make more than you can eat in one meal. I also added drained mandarin oranges and a sliced banana to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I followed the recipe, and added 2 cans of mixed fruit and 1 can mandarin oranges. I poured all of the canned fruit into a collander, to make sure it was very well drained. This seemed to help, as the leftovers were not runny the next day. I also added some extra mini marshmallows. I did mix the condensed milk/whipped topping mixture first, as advised, and added to the fruit/marshmallow mixture until I liked the consistency. I took it to a family party, and everyone enjoyed it. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Super easy to make. I added a few other fruits and the salad turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paxton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Instead of cherry pie filling, I used regular fruit cocktail, but the results were fabulous! It's got to be the sweetened condensed milk. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myra Sarmiento Marangi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Yummy! I made this this morning and it is delicious. However, I added 2 large bananas that I'd let sit in lime juice for a few minutes, a 15 ounce can of oranges and used 2 cans of tropical fruit salad (with pineapple and papaya and the like) instead of the can of pineapple. Also used tropical fruit marshmallows (which I doubt really affect the flavor but are cute nonetheless). I really don't think just a can of pineapple would have been enough fruit for all that wonderful pink fluff. It still would be good, but not really a fruit salad! I'll make my version of this a lot because it was so yummy and so very cheerful looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used a jar (without juice) of cherries instead of pie filling. I made it for Christmas dinner, and everyone wanted to take some home! A HUGE hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I added a sliced banana and used fresh pineapple chunks cut into bite sized pieces (instead of canned pineapple) - Everyone seed to really like it. I served it for a birthday dinner - the birthday girl asked to take the leftovers home! It was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
good basic recipe. I made this fruit salad for a work even. We have a large staff so i doubled the recipe and made my own changes: all i used was 2 large cans of tropical fruit mix, 1 small crate of strawberries, 3 large bananas, 1 bag fruit flavored mini marshmellows and 1 package cook and serve vanilla pudding. i drained the coctail juice and used to make the pudding. mixed all the fruit together then added the pudding. this mix seems to be a hit, allthough most people think it is a little to sweet. i will try not using the coctail juice to mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States