Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
This was good. I added bananas and mandarin oranges, as suggested. Next time, I think I'll mix all the fruit together, then add enough of the condensed milk/whipped topping mixture to moisten. The fruit seemed buried in the topping and I'd like people to see what they're eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This recipe was very good. I used strawberry pie filling instead of the cherry. I also did as the previous reviewer suggested and added the sweetened milk & whipped topping as needed last so it wasn't too soupy. I did notice that the leftovers become too liquidy by the next day so don't make more than you can eat in one meal. I also added drained mandarin oranges and a sliced banana to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Super easy to make. I added a few other fruits and the salad turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paxton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Instead of cherry pie filling, I used regular fruit cocktail, but the results were fabulous! It's got to be the sweetened condensed milk. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
My family has been making this salad for years. We add a can of fruit cocktail along with the other ingredients. Drain the fruit cocktail and the pineapple very well and the salad turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I don't know if I would call this fruit salad because there's not a whole lot of fruit with a lot of the mixture. But it is very tasty for sure. I added a lot of other fruit - apples, bananas, oranges, etc. to make it more "fruit-salad-y," but I think it would be better just as written and eaten as dessert. The pink stuff is very tasty, though and super easy to make with usually on-hand ingredients. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used a jar (without juice) of cherries instead of pie filling. I made it for Christmas dinner, and everyone wanted to take some home! A HUGE hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I followed the recipe, and added 2 cans of mixed fruit and 1 can mandarin oranges. I poured all of the canned fruit into a collander, to make sure it was very well drained. This seemed to help, as the leftovers were not runny the next day. I also added some extra mini marshmallows. I did mix the condensed milk/whipped topping mixture first, as advised, and added to the fruit/marshmallow mixture until I liked the consistency. I took it to a family party, and everyone enjoyed it. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Yummy! I made this this morning and it is delicious. However, I added 2 large bananas that I'd let sit in lime juice for a few minutes, a 15 ounce can of oranges and used 2 cans of tropical fruit salad (with pineapple and papaya and the like) instead of the can of pineapple. Also used tropical fruit marshmallows (which I doubt really affect the flavor but are cute nonetheless). I really don't think just a can of pineapple would have been enough fruit for all that wonderful pink fluff. It still would be good, but not really a fruit salad! I'll make my version of this a lot because it was so yummy and so very cheerful looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I added a sliced banana and used fresh pineapple chunks cut into bite sized pieces (instead of canned pineapple) - Everyone seed to really like it. I served it for a birthday dinner - the birthday girl asked to take the leftovers home! It was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States