Fruit Pizza with White Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
this is a fantastic recipe!!! I had to adapt in a couple of places: 1) I added a tsp. of orange extract to the crust. I thought that this made a huge amount! Not sure how thick the crust was supposed to be, but I ended up shaping the dough on a large baking sheet, was suprised at how big and puffy it got. It also took around 15 minutes to get to golden brown (and it turned out grrreat). Also, I had no white sugar, and used cane sugar. The crystals didn't break down when I creamed the shortening and butter, and they added a pleasant little crunch to the crust. My Kitchenaid was a doll working the crust. It was very thick and easily moldable into the rectangular form. 2) The vanilla chips and cream with softened cream cheese was so good I didn't think it would make it onto the crust. I couldn't stop eating it. I used generic vanilla chips and geberic cream cheese. 3) I mustve sliced my strawberries too thick b/c I didn't have enough to cover the crust completely! 4) I used lime juice instead of lemon in the glaze. It combined with the orange in the crust and the tartness of the cream cheese in a very pleasant way!! 5) I didn't realize until it was finished that I forgot the salt!! Maybe the baking soda or tartar gave it enough salty taste because it didn't affect the end result one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Where do I start? The cookie "dough" which was more like a batter that I had to spread with a spatula puffed up and spilled down over onto to bottom of the oven and burned. After I cleaned that up and cleared the smoke from my kitchen, I used an 18 oz. sugar cookie dough. Thank goodness I thought to buy one just in case. The cream cheese and white chocolate formed a very weird, slimy consistency when mixed together and I ended up taking half of that and mixing in a half tub of Cool Whip which made it much fluffier and 1/4 cup of lemon juice to take away the sickening sweetness of it. I waited till about 2 hours before I served it to frost it and arrange the fruit so it wouldn't get soggy. I used kiwi, strawberries, blackberries and mandarin oranges. It turned out wonderful but the original recipe is terrible. What a waste of time and unnecessary stress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
I made this for a Mother's Day celebration! Not only was it easy, everyone raved about it. Hardly a slice left. I used strawberries and blackberries. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This is easy, a beautiful presentation, and *delicious*. I used fresh pineapple, strawberries, blueberries, kiwi, and peaches arranged over a heart shaped crust for Valentine's Day. Everyone went crazy over it. P.S. For a very easy and delicious crust, I just spread out a package of refrigerated Pillsbury sugar cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by AUNTBEAR
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This one is really good. I took it to the in-laws last year for Christmas, and was asked to bring it again this year. I don't bother making the crust....I just smash out a roll of refridgerated(sp?) sugar cookie dough. Kids especially like this one, it seems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUNTBEAR
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This is by far the best fruit pizza recipe I have made. The filling is sooooo yummy! I use strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and kiwi when I make it. Always a big hit at parties. I never go home with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This was pretty good, but I would add a tub of cool whip to the white chocolate mixture next time. I think it would make it a bit more fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This was very well liked at an office potluck! I reduced the fat by using Neufchatel instead of cream cheese and replacing the 4 Tablespoons cream with a scant 1 tablespoon of 1% milk. I was out of pineapple juice, so made the glaze with orange juice. Also added 1 tsp. vanilla and the grated rind of one orange to the crust. Next time, I plan to try a shortbread cookie recipe for the crust, as the crust was a little sweeter than I cared for. (Everyone else LOVED the crust, as it was). For the fruit, I used kiwis, strawberries, oranges and bananas (dipped in lemon juice to prevent them from turning brown). I laid the fruit in diagonal stripes, and it looked like a colorful Mexican blanket... beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Not bad at all, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This was FABULOUS. I took it to a casual wine and cheese party with some co-workers. Everyone LOVED it. I too made it with Ghiradelli white chocalate, I also left out the heavy cream by mistake. That mistake turned out to be a blessing in diguise, the filling turned out very rich and delicious! I used sliced strawberries, peaches, kiwi, pinapple and blueberries. The glaze was perfectly thick for me, keep in mind that cornstarch does not reach it's full thickening power until it comes to a SIMMER. I brought the glaze to a simmer and let it simmer for about 30 seconds until it was thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States