Fruit Pizza II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Excellent recipe. I only made one change based on other reviews. I used 8oz cream cheese and 7 oz of marshmallow fluff for the topping....it was amazing. I baked the cookie on a pizza stone until it was golden brown all over (about 20 minutes). I topped it with the icing and cooled in the fridge until 2 hours before the party. I then topped with fruit and the orange drizzle and cooled for an additional 2 hours. Next time, I would make this the night before and cool it in the fridge, as it was much better the next day. The cookie got very moist and the flavors blended well. I would also use more strawberries and other "firm" fruit such as grapes, blue berries etc.. and stay away from things such as bananas and canned oranges. Great recipe.....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
509 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
This is the best fruit pizza! I had a friend in college who made fruit pizza with a glaze on top and could never find a recipe similar until now. I made this for a pot luck breakfast and followed all directions. It turned out great. I even made it the night ahead and refrigerated all night. No soggy crust! Don't skip the glaze, though. It makes this pizza stand out from all others. I may double it next time, because I didn't have enought to cover the entire pizza. The taste makes the long preparation time definately worth it! Update: I made this a 2nd time in a 9x13 baking dish. It turned out just the same and was very easy to store in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paynes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Wonderful recipe! I don't bother with making the glaze, although I'm sure it's delicious. I simply melt some apple jelly in the microwave and after cooling it a bit, I brush it on the fruit. It makes all the fruit shinny and pretty. Update: After making this for years now, I have a couple of new hints. When I take this to a special BBQ or Party, and I want it to look perfect, I wash and prepare the fruit the night before and refrigerate. I also bake the cookie base on a disposable foil pizza pan the night before, cover and store it at room temperature. Early the next morning I make the cream cheese layer and use a pizza cutter or sharp knife and cut it into small wedges. I then add the fruit after cutting, brush with the melted jelly and carry it in a pizza box to the party. It never fails to impress and everyone loves it. Thanks Kay for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I have made this a few times, all without the glaze. The last time I made it, I doubled the recipe to make one big probably about 16" pizza and it still came out great. I made the whole thing, fruit included and froze it overnight. It kept very well and started defrosting on my way to a function. It also kept longer sitting out since it started out so cold. I'm sure with the glaze is great too, but I just haven't needed it. Without the glaze, the sweetness is just right if you don't like things really sweet. The sugar cookie balances out the cream cheese/cool whip mixture. This is a great recipe if you're sick of making salads to bring to bbq's...it really makes a great impression. I usually use blueberries, strawberries and kiwi. I have also used pineapple on occasion. Just be careful...it's addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ULTRAGIRL
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This is a show stopping dessert. Once the first piece was cut, it went in a flash. I used the mixture of 8 oz cream cheese and 7 oz jar of marshmallow cream as others did. The glaze not only adds flavor, it gives it the finishing touch that you would expect if you purchased this from a gourmet shop. I baked the dough about 15 minutes, and will increase that the next time. The crust softens up once the cream and fruit sit on it for a while - so I think it might be better to over bake it a little. I love this dessert, and so does my office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Ok, I whipped my topping so it made it super thick, but I wanted the lumps out! That's ok, because it was so good! And I like this topping better than my personal recipe because the fruit doesn't slide off! Wasn't too crazy about the orange sauce, you can just use orange juice concentrate instead - plus its easier. Great recipe though! :) -- Oh, if you buy the sugar cookie dough, slice them like you were going to make the cookies and then use wax paper to smoosh it down into your pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
The mixture of the Cool Whip and cream cheese was a little bland, so I added about 3/4C of sifted powdered sugar. This made the sauce a little thicker, and tasted sweeter. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakelady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
I added powdered sugar and vanilla to the cream cheese mixture. it was great! Gone in seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVEEVILLISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
I really liked this recipe. I've tried other versions, but the glaze was the difference in this one - very tasty! I didn't give it to my kids because they like fruit plain and wouldn't have tried it, but everyone else at my July 4 cook out thought it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
This was a great dessert! My husband insists on having it for Easter dessert. It was very pretty too! A great dessert to make for guests. It looks impressive! The kids weren't crazy about it though (ages 4 and 8) but they are picky eaters anyway. I have already passed the recipe around to friends and family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States