Fruit Pizza I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AnnieThePooh
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I made this recipe for a fish fry last weekend. I made two batches to experiment- one using store bought cookie dough and one using the recipe from scratch. Neither my husband nor I could tell the difference once the toppings were on, so my advice is to just buy the prepared dough! I decided to make a dozen mini personal pizzas which looked great but took a little longer to decorate (see picture I submitted). This made it easy to eat without a fork/plate. I used marshmallow cream (13oz jar) with the double batch of cheese to lighten it up. I had baked the cookies, chopped the fruit and mixed the cheese the previous night and by the time I finished decorating the mini pizzas (had about 12 with 2 batches), the cheese was very soft. We had a sample at that point and it was great. By the time we drove an hour to the party, dinner was delayed & some folks did not have dessert for 2-3 more hours later. These pizzas did get VERY soggy after the point of 5 or 6 hours. This is not a good recipe for leaving out on a buffet for an all-day BBQ. My recommendation is to make sure you have space in a fridge (which is tricky if you're a guest) and only leave them out for 2 hours maximum before serving. This is a better "served" dish rather than a "grazing" dessert. I still had lots of compliments and they still tasted great, crispy or soggy! The fruit I used were strawberries, blueberries, kiwis, nectarines, grapes, and mandarin oranges. Excellent combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
697 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holly, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MooCowDairy
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Made a few changes but fantastic recipe. After reading the reviews I was worried about the pizza becoming soggy since this would be going to the office and sitting out for a while. I decided to make individual pizzas to make it easier to eat. I placed small balls of dough and pressed into the bottom of cupcake holders. I baked a couple dozen at a time on cookie sheets and cooked for longer than recommended. I baked until they were a golden brown on the edges (some were turning golden all the way thru depending on thickness) when cooled it was a cracker consistency. Cooking them this way made a really nice contrast with the creaminess of the icing and the cookies stayed very crisp without any sogginess. I also used less powdered sugar since the sugar tends to make the cream cheese more runny. Several office workers said it was the best cookie they had ever had. Pictures listed in the photo section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
582 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Wow!!!!!! This was even better than I expected. A big thanks goes to the reviewers who said: 1)cut the crust with filling before adding fruit, 2)be sure fruit is dry, 3)add some cool whip to the filling mixture, and 4)put waxed paper over the dough to spread it evenly. We loved it!! I just used the good old strawberries, blueberries, bananas, and kiwi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
418 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKSANDBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Junction, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
Quick, easy and cream cheesy! Everyone loved this and requested it for our next family event. One thing to mention, though: let your fruit drain in a collander for quite a while before adding it to the pizza. Otherwise you will end up with soggy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
This was the best fruit pizza recipe I have found. Try doubling the sugar cookie and baking it in a 9x13 pan. It is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I made this for my family's big get-together this last weekend and this was a huge hit! A few changes I made were I added 1/2 package fat-free vanilla pudding mix to the cream cheese filling. It just adds to the yummyness! I used apples, peaches, grapes, bananas and strawberries. One tip, after spreading your fillin gon freeze the crust with filling for about an hour or so then remove it and cut it inthe pan to the servings you want. THEN arrange your fruit on top of your serving cuts. I still managed to have a very nice looking presentation on the whole and was much easier to serve instead of trying to cut through the fruit. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This one is okay, but it is so much easier if you use prepackaged cookie dough, cuts WAY down on the mess and prep time. I also switched around the "sauce" and used 8 oz. frozen whipped topping thawed, and 8 oz cream cheese, 2 t vanilla (pure, of course) and liked it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Very easy very delicious! I also used ready made sugar cookie dough. I baked it on my Pampered Chef stone, you can roll the dough if you put wax paper on top. For one party I used strawberries, raspberries & blueberries and put more Cool Whip on top. Then used the fruit & decorated it as the US Flag! Also substituted Tofu cream cheese & non-dairy topping for a lactose intolerant group! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PersonalChefJoni

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Deeeeeelious!! This was easy, quick, fun to make,looked impressive and tasted delightful!! My family LOVED it. In fact, I'm making it again tomorrow!! Next time I'll bake the crust on parchment paper so I can easily transfer to a pretty plate. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
I really love this dessert. I used refrigerated cookie dough, but I made several smaller cookies instead of one large one. I baked the cookies until they were brown on the edges. Then I let my kids each make their own pizzas. My whole family had a great time together in the kitchen! We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States