Fruit Oatmeal Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
After trying these bars many different ways, this is the modified version we liked best: Combine all dry ingredients first, then cut in butter with 2 knives as for pie dough. Press with fingers to form a solid mass. Use seedless fruit only preserves for filling. Bake in an 8X8-inch pan lined with buttered foil. Increase baking time by 5 minutes. Serve with vanilla ice cream. This is our personal favorite, but any way you make them, they're great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This is the 2nd time I've tried this recipe. The first time, they turned out flat,crumbly and the fruit was rubbery. The next time, I doulbed the recipe, used seedless jam, and put about 1-2 tsp of evaporated milk into the oat mixture. It was much easier to press into pan, yet still able to crumble on the top. Much more flavorful. So simple and quick to make I have to keep the recipe!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This is our favorite bar cookie. We've tried many types of fruit, and apricot is our favorite. To make a breakfast oatmeal bar, I double everything except the sugar and jam, which makes a bar that is less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARRIDANN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I really think this recipe works better if you make it in an 8 or 9 inch square pan. If you want to use a 9x13 pan you really need to double the recipe. I doubled it and added 2T. milk and 2t. vanilla as suggested by another reviewer. I cooked 1C. dates, chopped, in 2C. water until thickened and used this as the fruit topping. Sprinkled cinnamon and ground cloves over it and baked as directed. Really great tasting, healthy snack for my family... not too much refined sugar and lots of fiber. Thanks for a keeper recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2000
Excellent and easy recipe. Instead of using jam, you could substitute one cup water and 1/2 cup dates boiled until you get a thick jam like consistancy. That way you don't end up with too much added sugar in the recipe. Also I added a little vanilla and it was great. Thanks for sharing this recipe. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I found these okay but a little dry. I doubled the butter, melted completely. My favorite filling is an apple butter/applesauce mix with pumpkin spice added (however much you like). I also add about a fourth cup dry oats to the top layer mix and make sort of crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This recipe is simple and easy to prepare but everyone who tastes these bars is really impressed by them. It's great, especially for someone who is just learning to bake (like me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Very Good! I put the whole recipeon the bottom of the pan them covered in jam. I made a streusel topping or cinnamon, flour, brown sugar and oats and sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I made this a year ago, trying to "copy", or should I say, figure out how to make grape bars. I live in the Finger Lakes and also work in vineyards. Anyways, one of my bosses got me hooked on these grape bars, made with concord grapes, a lady in Naples NY makes them and sells them, but I still can't find a recipe for them (I'm sure it's secret) LOL But......I came pretty close when I made grape pie filling on top of stove, then poured on top instead of jam. It was close, but I just read a review (which I'm going to try), that said double the oatmeal recipe and increase time, I think it will work. All and all, though, the base tastes like what I was looking for, ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
Make sure you use high-quality jam at room temperature, or spreading it will be difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States