Fruit Oatmeal Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I had and lost a different recipe for oatmeal fruit bars, but this one seems a pretty close match. My old recipe said to press the crumb mixture into the pan and bake for about 10 minutes until golden brown, prior to adding the preserves. A great recipe -- I love to take these cookies as snacks for hiking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Soooo easy the kids even helped. Boy did they gobble these up. The sounds of mmmmm went on for several minutes. This is a keeper, easy and yummy; you can't go wrong! Bye the way, be sure to let them cool all the way before you cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I had raspberry, strawberry and apricot jams that needed to be finished off, so I tried this recipe. It came out a little crumbly, so I decided to cut them in squares and wrapped them in plastic wrap and put them in the freezer. They taste great out of the freezer, the jam is chewy. I also added walnuts to the oat mixture which is really good too. Good recipe if you need to use up extra jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This is the 2nd time I've tried this recipe. The first time, they turned out flat,crumbly and the fruit was rubbery. The next time, I doulbed the recipe, used seedless jam, and put about 1-2 tsp of evaporated milk into the oat mixture. It was much easier to press into pan, yet still able to crumble on the top. Much more flavorful. So simple and quick to make I have to keep the recipe!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This is our favorite bar cookie. We've tried many types of fruit, and apricot is our favorite. To make a breakfast oatmeal bar, I double everything except the sugar and jam, which makes a bar that is less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARRIDANN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
These bars are so yummy! I made them with 5 different types of jam! My sis loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This recipe is simple and easy to prepare but everyone who tastes these bars is really impressed by them. It's great, especially for someone who is just learning to bake (like me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Good taste, but crumbly. I won't be making again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This is a GREAT recipe, and about as easy and foolproof as it gets. I made them for a pot-luck and they were delicious, and I would most definitely suggest using raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
After trying these bars many different ways, this is the modified version we liked best: Combine all dry ingredients first, then cut in butter with 2 knives as for pie dough. Press with fingers to form a solid mass. Use seedless fruit only preserves for filling. Bake in an 8X8-inch pan lined with buttered foil. Increase baking time by 5 minutes. Serve with vanilla ice cream. This is our personal favorite, but any way you make them, they're great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States