Fruit Oatmeal Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Very good! A nice treat for summer and something that everyone enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
My jam was hard to spread but that was just the type I had, so it didn't get even. I used an 11x7 pan based on reviews that it was too thin in a 9x13, but they were kinda thick, I think the 9x13 would have been fine. 35 minutes was too long, I should have checked sooner and the oatmeal was browned too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Perfect 'as is,' no changes to the ingredients. My only suggestion is for prep, namely that the dry ingredients be combined first, then cut into cold butter as 'trufflebun' suggested. People can skirt the "thin layer" without doubling anything by using an 8 x 8 pan. Never had rubbery issues using preserves or jam, seedless or not. Really simple, fast and easy to make. This is the recipe I use all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I'd been wanting to make these and was happy to find the recipe and suggestions. I doubled the top & bottom ingredients for a 9"x13" pan and it turned out well. My tip is to give the oats a quick spin in a blender or food processor. You get all the benefits of oatmeal, but it's less chunky for family members who may not love oatmeal's texture so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Christian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Good, tasty, versatile recipe. However, it does make a very thin layer. I would make extra for the crust next time. It held together very well, though, for how thin it was! (Not too crumbly like many are.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is really simple and quick. I added milk like some suggestions said. i also added a 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour to replace some white flour. i used fig preserves and a little honey, vanilla and nutmeg. yum. they were still a little crumbly, so i'm wondering about adding an egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I added about half a cup of peanut butter (I used all natural) and decreased the butter to about 1/4 cup, and that worked out great. I do agree with others, though, that the 9x13 pan makes the bars rather thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I tried this recipe and it did not turn out well. The bars were flat and when they were perfectly browned on top the center was gooey. When the center was done the edges were burned. Overall I think I will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Had a hard time spreading out the jam. I used seedless, all-natural preserves at room temp. as was suggested on another review. Otherwise, delish! Could probably use less sugar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I really think this recipe works better if you make it in an 8 or 9 inch square pan. If you want to use a 9x13 pan you really need to double the recipe. I doubled it and added 2T. milk and 2t. vanilla as suggested by another reviewer. I cooked 1C. dates, chopped, in 2C. water until thickened and used this as the fruit topping. Sprinkled cinnamon and ground cloves over it and baked as directed. Really great tasting, healthy snack for my family... not too much refined sugar and lots of fiber. Thanks for a keeper recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States