Fruit Oatmeal Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Amazing! I didn't have jam so I took pie filling and put it in the blender...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
The proportions of this recipe are off. When used in a 9x13 pan the bottom crust is too thin and it is difficult to cut into bars that remain in bar form. Doubling the crust to filling ratio should correct the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Yummy! My hubby and kids LOVED it! Made it in an 8x8 pan as others suggested and used about two-thirds of the Jam that was rec'd. Came out super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Made these a while ago, apparently my review didn't save?? I'd suggest you double the topping, or halve the jam. We halved the jam...because we ran out of jam lol...but it was just right, a full-sweet (store-bought) jam would be OVERWHELMINGLY sweet if you used 1.5 cups. So use home preserves or use less than called for in the jam department. But the crust is delish and everyone enjoyed these. Warming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I modified this recipe pretty heavily, but am still giving it 5 stars for giving me the foundation of a good oatmeal bar that I needed. (added nuts and fruits, no preserves, vanilla and applesauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I really liked the oatmeal crust part though wasn't all that impressed with the recipe itself. It was too sweet for me. I used an 8 X 8 pan and did part strawberry jelly and part apricot jelly. I think you'd definitely have to double it to make enough for a 13 X 9 inch pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was pretty good. Don't expect them to be like convenient, store bought bars. You have to cut them out of the dish like pie and they will be sticky. But they are tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! Followed to near exactness. I just substituted 1/2 cup 100% wheat flour for white to add a little more nutritional value. We used homemade peach jam I canned this summer. Not too dense and I love how well the salt off sets the sweetness. The kids and I, and more importantly, the hubby, are fans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is a bit dry and definitely needs a 9x9 pan instead of a 9x13. Very easy though. Would make again in a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This recipe was good in regards to general quality and texture. (I doubled it for a 9 x 11 pan.) However, it needed a touch more flavor more than the strawberry preserves that I used. I suppose this would depend upon the specific preserves... Next time I'll add some cinnamon to the recipe and maybe even more brown sugar to the top crunch layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RASHELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States