Fruit Oatmeal Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this as written. It tasted good but the oatmeal bottom was dry and the top fell off every bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Absolutely a treasure! An old-fashioned, deeply satisfying, wholesome recipe. I did use 3/4 stone ground whole wheat flour to 1/4 white all purpose flour. I pressing two cups of the batter into the bottom of my stoneware, I added 1 cup of sliced almonds and 3/4 cups of whit choc chips to the topping before sprinkling it over the fruit filling. For the fruit filling, I only had blackberry preserves, so I spread those over 1/2 of the pressed down layer, and then spread apple butter over the other 1/2 , before sprinkling the topping on. After it cooked, and cooled for 30 minutes, I swirled white almond frosting over the top for decoration. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Voss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
These came out great. I used apple butter for the preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So good! I used half pureed fresh strawberries and plums mixed with half apricot jam and it was wonderful. I like extra cookie batter on the bottom, so mixed up an extra half batch to sprinkle on the top, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is a great tasting and easy recipe, I just combined all the dry ingredients in my food processor. I doubled the recipe and substituted sucanat for the brown sugar and it was wonderful, I made it at the health food store that I work at and it was a BIG BIG hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyKay

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lisle, New York, USA
Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Delicious!!! The buttery crust was perfect with the tangy apricot/pineapple jam that I used. This was very popular in our house and barely lasted more than one day. Will make again with other flavors of jam - raspberry and blackberry would go very well in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
These are tasty, but don't expect them to transport well out of the pan. Based on previous reviews, I added 1 tablespoon of milk and 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the crust and made them in a 9x9 pan. I also cut the dry ingredients together with the butter (based on trufflebun's review) before adding those additions, which worked quite well for the crust. They came out pretty well that way, but they must be incredibly thin in the original 9x13 pan called for, given that I wouldn't call them desperately thick in a 9x9 pan. You ultimately end up with a tasty soft and gooey (from the jam) bar that would be best served warmed up with ice cream, in my opinion. More like some cobblers I've made as opposed to bars, given that we couldn't easily pick them up and eat them with our hands. (However, still more bar-like than an actual cobbler.) So while these are definitely tasty and were enjoyed by my kids, they don't work well as a snack to take places as I was hoping. I'll be trying other recipes for something along those lines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I cut these into little squares and freeze them in sandwich bags, 4 to a bag. I pop them into my daughters lunch bag in the morning straight from the freezer and they make a perfect morning snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
What a quick and tasty recipe! I made a homemade peach apricot preserve instead of using store bought jam. In a sause pan, I combined 1/2 a cup of water, and added 1 1/2 cups of fresh peaches and dried apricots. Brought it to a boil and let it sit to cool and thicken up. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla and maple syrup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I thought these were very good. After reading other reviews I made them in a 9 x 9 pan, and added a little extra butter. They are very sweet, and when I make them again I will use all fruit jam with no added sugar. They were a hit at my office, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States