Fruit Oatmeal Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
If you follow this recipe and use a 9x13 pan, the bars come out REALLY thin. I used all of the mixture on the bottom of the pan, otherwise there wouldn't be enough to fill the bottom of the pan. Next time I will double the recipe to use a 9x13 pan. Good bars, tho. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I made these, and because I am VERY critical of my own cooking, they didn't turn out right. I think the butter needs to be melted, not softened. I followed the recipe, and my 'dry mixture' was clumpy. My daughter said it was good, but she's 14, she thinks everything is good. Melting the butter, as u would with a cheesecake crust, will make it 'press better'. Was tatsy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Made this at daycare with the kids and they loved it! I did 1 and a half sticks of butter, because mixture seemed dry, and made with strawberry jam. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caseytaylor8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eastham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Easy to make and keeps so well. In fact is probably better a couple of days later. Have made this and the bars last for great little snacks all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These are very tasty. I replaced the all purpose flour with whole wheat flour and used Polmars all fruit seedless blackberry preserves. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Green Goddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
We loved these! They were super fast to make. We followed the review about using the apricot preserves and they were super-yummy. We also doubled the recipe and used the 9x13 pan. Next time we will try the bit more healthy approach and use Smuckers Simply Fruit apricot preserves. I will say that they are messy to make. Even after cooling for an hour, if I tried to cut them, they would fall apart, so finally I put them outside on the porch (in the dead of winter) and the next morning I was able to cut them apart without them falling apart. We also followed the part about buttering the foil, but this didn't work. The foil ended up sticking to the bars in the corners and I was peeling it off it little bitty pieces. Total pain. Next time I might try baking on parchment?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I love these! It's all I can do not to eat half tyhe pan as soon as they come out. I amended the recipe to add about 1 tbsp of ground cinnamon, and it gives it a more rich flavor, but otherwise, I think this recipe is one of my new favs. My husband constatly asks me to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I was looking for a shortbread-based bar cookie recipe & found this. Trufflebun's advice to "combine all dry ingredients first, then cut in butter with 2 knives as for pie dough" works well. I used an 8 x 8 glass pan lined with buttered foil. For the filling, used a can of whole berry cranberry sauce that had been kicking around the pantry since last Thanksgiving. Added some toasted chopped almonds to the top layer of crust. It came out of the oven quite moist, and I would have eated it in a bowl with ice cream if I had any. Next time I'll try jam for the filling. Still looking for a shortbread-based bar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whataFRUIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Served these bars alongside cupcakes from the local cupcake shop...amazingly, the bars disappeared first. For best results, follow the recipe for the "dough" part (feel free to experiment with fillings). I tried to do a "healthier" version with applesauce and whole wheat flour - they were not nearly as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Love these!! They turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allenwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States