Fruit Cocktail Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is fantastic!!!!! I made some changes after reading the other reviews and it is awesome. I cut the white sugar down to 1/2 cup, added cinnamon, nutmeg & allspice also added about 3/4 of a can of chopped carrots. Then for the topping instead of brown sugar I used a topping I had from and apple crisp recipe which was 2/3 c of br sugar 1/2 c flour, 1/2 c oats, 3/4 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 tsp nutmeg & 1/3 c butter softened, mix together and sprinkle on top of batter. I also put it in a little bigger pan, a 8 x 11" baked the cake the same as the recipe and it was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This cake is awesome! The second time, I added spices - 1 T cinnamon, 1 t allspice. Yummy! Moist and if you have leftovers, doesn't dry out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I had surprise company for dinner and made this as an easy and quick dessert. It was a hit. I had 3 pieces left over and the next day they reminded me of a "wet bottom pie". 5 stars in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROOFREDHEAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenngrace
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I think this recipe is really good. It reminds me of the Fruit Cocktail Cake my dad would make when I was a kid. It is very sweet as other posters have said, but that's exactly how I remember it. Thanks for sharing this, it brought back great childhood memories for me!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was my grama's favorite, used to make it for her when I was 8 years old. Now I make it for my grandkids! We always used chopped walnuts on top with the brown sugar. This is hard to keep because nibblers can't leave it alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
its a good recipe for basics, but I also cut down on the sugar and added some spice to it. To give a hint of "fruit" flavour. add a few drops of almond extract to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Easy yes but end item was not worth the slight effort. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Nice quick and easy. I shifted my flour and soda with a fork. Blended juice then folded in a beaten egg and fruit. Cinnamom was a must. Baked for 45 minutes. A masterpiece. My village children loved it on a rainy day. The con: Too moisted (more puddy like than cake).Can't see eating leftovers. LOL If any left. Great recipe for a special occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
looks simple and easy. going to try this very soon. quick to make just my style. thanks and nice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arif Fikri

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ampang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Doubled recipe, Cut amt of sugar in half and added flaxseed meal in batter and then walnuts on top wih brown sugar and we loved it! Served with ice cream made enough for 4 kids and 4 adults with a bit left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States