Fruit Cocktail Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This just didn't turn out very well. It seemed to need more flavor - maybe some spices? We probably won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This recipe was okay. It was quick to make and I had all the ingredients. 40 minutes seems like a long time to cook. Mine was done all the way through in 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I don't know how you come up with 16 servings with ingredients of this size. But thank you for helping me find this recipe. I had lost it from 25 years ago. However, my purpose in finding it, was try making it more healthy. I substituted 1 cup of oats for the flour, 2/3 cup of splenda for the sugar, added NO brown sugar, used fruit cocktail in its own juice, 1 egg white, in place of whole egg. It turned out great. With all the calories and fat saved, fiber increased, I splurged by putting on 4 tblsp. real lite whipping cream, from a can. That only added 30 calories. My kids and husband loved it. Now I make it every other week...GUILT FREE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This cake smells divine coming out of the oven. The overall taste is bland...maybe adding some nutmeg to the mix would help with that. But, for the most part it isn't too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I cut the sugar amount in half after reading the 2 other reviews. I thought it came out good. Made it on a whim so not sure I make it again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiota, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This cake was a big hit when we made it at school in the classroom. It was delicious when it was still warm! It was a little bit sweet, but it was still quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I've never had a fruit cocktail cake before, but I tried this recipe because I had so many cans of it in my fridge going to waste. My husband liked the cake, but it was just too gooey and sugary-sweet for my taste. Is fruit cocktail cake always so...squishy? I think my problem is that I have nothing to compare it to. Personally, if I were to make it again, I'd cut the sugar down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-27 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States