Fruit Cocktail Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I had surprise company for dinner and made this as an easy and quick dessert. It was a hit. I had 3 pieces left over and the next day they reminded me of a "wet bottom pie". 5 stars in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROOFREDHEAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Although this was easy, it really didn't turn out well. It was like fruit cocktail in wallpaper paste. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I don't like giving this recipe only three stars, but it really didn't come out well. It was super easy to make and mine took an hour in the oven when I made it for Easter dessert yesterday. But even though I cut the sugar by about a third, it was still overpoweringly sweet. My other complaint is that it didn't taste at all of fruit, just of sugar (and of the cinnamon I added based on other reviewers' suggestions). I don't know what to do to make this cake taste of fruit, so I probably won't make this again. But I'm open to suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This cake is awesome! The second time, I added spices - 1 T cinnamon, 1 t allspice. Yummy! Moist and if you have leftovers, doesn't dry out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This is a "guy" cake. It's one of my husband's favorites! I, like many other reviewers, cut down on the sugar and used Splenda. It's best when still warm with ice cream. It's truly an old fashioned recipe -- my mom used to make it when she didn't have other cake ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This cake was okay; my husband and sons seemed to like it better than I did. It definitely wasn't what I was expecting. I decided to double the recipe and use a 13"x9" pan. Like other reviewers mentioned, it was more like a cobbler. It didn't have a whole lot of flavor, and the sweetness was overpowering, to the point of leaving something of an aftertaste. Also like other reviewers stated, I don't think it would matter what kind of canned fruit you used, because you really don't taste the individual flavors of the fruit. I used one can of light fruit cocktail and one can of mandarin oranges, and it didn't seem to make much difference. The fruit did make the cake nice and moist, though, and the texture was fine even after refrigeration; the top stayed crunchy and the cake didn't go soggy. I definitely agree you could cut the amount of sugar in half. Maybe using half white sugar and half brown sugar in the batter would help improve the flavor, and possibly adding a teaspoon or two of a spice such as cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DLHDLH23
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
My husband liked it a lot, though thought it could of used some spice as well. I think I'll add a bit of nutmeg next time. Best when eaten same day while the top is still crunchy, it goes soggy pretty fast, though I did put it back in the oven for a bit the next day and it was still pretty good. If you like sweet, this is a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLHDLH23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
My mom made this cake for us when we were growing up. I decided to try it for my husband. When mom couldnt' find her recipe, Allrecipes came to the rescue. I substituted Splenda (white and brown) for the sugar, and it came out great. My husband loved it. I also used Fruit Cocktail in it's own juice instead of heavy syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
great recipe, great if you add a little all spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This was so quick and tastey! Very light, reminded me of pineapple upside down cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States