Fruit Cocktail Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was very good! I added brown sugar and crushed pecans to top before cooking, my whole family loved it!! Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
If you love a coconut topping and very moist and tender cake with fruit inside, this one's for you. It was excellent! It tastes best still slightly warm or at room temperature. We will definitely make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EQUILDOTTSIN
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Terrific and Easy! Reminds me of mom's recipe except she used 1 tblsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt instead of baking soda. Gives it cake consistency. I also made an adjustment to the topping. On the topping I used 1/2 white granulated sugar and 1/2 cup powdered sugar for the sugar called for. Also note: use unsalted stick butter and unsweetened coconut. Bring your mixture to rapid boil for at least 1 minute. Stir in vanilla after you remove from heat. This will make the topping set up beautifully. Great recipe, will use again. Thanks for the memories :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This recipe was not a success at all. I made it twice for 15 to 20 people. Most of my guests did not like it but one or two of them just loved it - I guess it's a cake that you either hate or love but not a general crowd pleaser. Since I prefer recipes that are liked by a wider range of guests I will not bake this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
this is the best cake ever and not hard to make. moist and delicious my husband requests this cake all the times....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Excellent! Best I've ever had....or ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strunk, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I made this because my mom used to make this when I was little. The cake was as I remember it, but a bit chewy. The topping was nothing to write home about. Honestly, it doesn't need the topping, it's perfect on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
My husband really enjoyed this recipe.I added a dash of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg to the batter.Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was so good. I've never had fruit cocktail cake before but it was excellent. It was also very easy to make. I will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ironchef1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
We ate this warm and it was fantastic! I added cinnamon and nutmeg like one of the other reviewers. Also. It didn't sound like evaporated milk was right for the topping. I used sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States