Fruit Cocktail Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was so good. I've never had fruit cocktail cake before but it was excellent. It was also very easy to make. I will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ironchef1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This recipe was not a success at all. I made it twice for 15 to 20 people. Most of my guests did not like it but one or two of them just loved it - I guess it's a cake that you either hate or love but not a general crowd pleaser. Since I prefer recipes that are liked by a wider range of guests I will not bake this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EQUILDOTTSIN
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Terrific and Easy! Reminds me of mom's recipe except she used 1 tblsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt instead of baking soda. Gives it cake consistency. I also made an adjustment to the topping. On the topping I used 1/2 white granulated sugar and 1/2 cup powdered sugar for the sugar called for. Also note: use unsalted stick butter and unsweetened coconut. Bring your mixture to rapid boil for at least 1 minute. Stir in vanilla after you remove from heat. This will make the topping set up beautifully. Great recipe, will use again. Thanks for the memories :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This was perfect, exactly what I was looking for. I have one quibble; the recipe doesn't state when to add the vanilla. Since it was listed with the topping, I put it in after the topping boiled. I also put a tsp of vanilla in the batter, just because I like it, and it didn't seem to hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This is a delicious and easy cake. I didn't have any coconut for the topping. I made it without the coconut, and it came out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Very good, however, next time I think I will mix nuts in with the coconut mixture. Eaten up fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Just Like MOM used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by King Murdock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I made this because my mom used to make this when I was little. The cake was as I remember it, but a bit chewy. The topping was nothing to write home about. Honestly, it doesn't need the topping, it's perfect on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was very good! I added brown sugar and crushed pecans to top before cooking, my whole family loved it!! Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Excellent! Best I've ever had....or ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strunk, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States