Fruit Cocktail Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
As far as fruit cocktail cakes go, this one was fantastic. So easy and really yummy. I dont do coconut so I left off the topping and made a glaze out of powedered sugar, milk, and vanilla. Really good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delibeanjelly
Home Town: San Andreas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I've been looking for this recipe for years, it's the same as my grandmother made and it's wonderful. This cake is rather a family tradition; I make it for my father who is diabetic and use Splenda instead of sugar in both cake and frosting. But for my family I make the the standard way. And I do add 2 tsp. vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This cake is wonderful. The coconut topping is to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Absolutely wonderful. Didn't use coconut or nuts per family preferences, used crushed corn flakes in place of walnuts. Thanks a bunch for the recipe!! Just what I was looking for to do something special with canned fruit cocktail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I wasn't a great fan for this recipe... Sorry to say. I didn't use the coconut, but I don't think it would make much of a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by visionairess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made this and am not sure that white sugar is white powdered sugar or regular granulated sugar.. so went with white powdered sugar as I have never heard regular granulated sugar referred to as "white" sugar... I'm thinking that it should be the regular as mine did not come out very well with white powdered sugar.. please revise to say granulated..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This cake is wonderful if you love old-fashioned cakes like grandma makes. I grew up eating this cake and haven't had it since my grandma pasted. Only change I made was toasting the coconut icing by placing under broiler til lightly toasted. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Burns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
What I like to do with it is, after the batter is poured into the pan, put it in the oven, then half way through the baking put the coconut on top and continue baking until done. When the cake is out of the oven, poke holes with a fork and then put on the topping. Let it sit. It is awsome, and can last several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
i was looking for something really quick and easy to make on a friday morning. this was definitely both..... but i wasn't expecting this cake to be soooo yummy! i cut the recipe in half and made in 8x8 dish. i ended up still using a full can of fruit cocktail and added about 1/3c. of extra flour because all the extra juice made the batter a little runny. i thought it might turn out a bit gummy because of extra juice.... but it was perfect! tonight.... 4 days after making the cake, i had a slice and it is still moist and yummy. great, super easy cake! my husband loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made the changes (added vanilla to cake, added more chopped nuts) which others had suggested. Very good flavor, moist! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States