Fruit Cocktail Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Vry easy to make.... it came out really well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prarthana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Made this recipe exactly as written except for leaving out the walnuts because I hate them. So delicious, we topped it with whipped cream. All 7 of us gobbled it up! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I was looking for a fruit cake recipe and this came up in the list. I followed the recipe to a T and it turned out fine, but I find it a little strange. It tastes (and looks) like a big chocolate chip cookie with fruit cocktail mixed in. It doesn't taste bad, per se, but I don't think the fruit makes it more appealing or delicious. I think it might be interesting to try making it with white sugar instead, and maybe add milk instead of the fruit cocktail syrup. This way it would be more of a yellow cake with fruit mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmzhao82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have never made fruit cake before and this turned out great. I changed the can of fruit and used the candied fruit you buy in the store and added the juice from the fruit cocktail and let it sit over night. Awesome recipe will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Very delicious cake and so easy to make. I did cut down the chocolate chips and walnuts to 1/2 cup each and that covered the cake nicely. To save time a cake mix can be used with the same great results. Thank you Sharon for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I have a bed and breakfast and had guest who was lactose intolerant. I made this cake and wasn't sorry. Hubby thought it tasted a bit like carrot cake and didn't like it, but the guests devoured it and I took the leftovers to work. They all liked it as well, and one gal asked for the recipe! I cut the recipe in half so I wouldn't have a lot of leftovers to tempt me, and baked in a 8x8 (or thereabouts) pan. It baked in about 20 minutes in my GE Advantium convection oven. I have another lactose intolerant guest tonight and will make it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
If you like fruit and chocolate combined, it's a very good recipe. It is very tasty. I've had alot of mixed reviews. Some people just don't like the taste. But I did, so it got 5 stars. The first time I made it I could find the sifter, so I improvised, but it turned out very dry. I thought maybe it was also because it just didn't get quite enough liquid. So the next time I made it, I used a sifter and added an extra egg to it. Turned out great. Both times I made it I did add extra cinnamon also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMURFETE09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
It came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I used to make this cake when my kids were little over 30 years ago and lost the recipe. It is wonderful! I added an additional 8 ounce can of fruit cocktail, drained, in addition to the 15 ounce tropical fruit cocktail. I served it to my dinner guests and they loved it....they were surprised and delighted with the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States