Fruit Cocktail Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I make this all the time. I do cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and only use 1/4 cup of brown sugar. That cuts down on the sweetness. I also add pecans to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
As others have noted, my Mom used to make this when I was a Kid. I was cleaning out my pantry and found several cans of Fruit Cocktail. I added about half a cup of Walnuts and an extra Egg Yolk. I used 2/3 cup of Sugar. Before I added the Brown Sugar on top I added 2 Tablespoons of Ground Flax Seed on top of the Batter. (I almost always add Flax Seed to Baked Desserts for a Healthy Kick) LOL......Tasty, tasty, tasty! Next time I will top with coconut. Aloha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Carlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I thought it was okay but a weird texture. My hunny can't seem to stay out of it though. I will make again as stated just because he enjoyed it so much but I won't be partaking in it. Also cook times seemed off by a bit, mine needed maybe five extra minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I thought this recipe was a little odd, since there was no oil and no applesauce. I was concerned that it wouldn't rise, or that it would fall apart. It did rise, but the batter was very sweet, as some of the other reviewers stated, so I cut back on the brown sugar sprinkled on top to about 1/4 cup. This coffee cake reminds me of pineapple upside-down cake, but it needs a pinch of salt, and perhaps a bit of cinnamon to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
We really enjoyed this. I reduced the sugar in the recipe by 1/4 cup and also reduced the brown sugar that I sprinkled on top to 3 T and this was still sweet enough. It was perfect this way. I used canned peaches in juice that I diced up. This is a great recipe and you wouldn't know that it is low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Surprisingly yummy! I chopped up the fruit cocktial a bit so there was smaller chunks in the cake. I also reduced the sugar because I didn't want it to be too sweet. I cannot believe it is non-fat. We served it with cool whip mixed with cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Not cool. This was so sweet that I am surprised that I still have any teeth left. The truly odd thing about it was that the sweetness completely lacked a flavour beyond the brown sugar. It just needed something more to it, more fruit, some spices - cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice whatever, and a drastic drop in sugar as well roughly 2 tbs of brown sugar sprinkled on top before baking & a light dusting of icing sugar after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This recipe was okay. It was quick to make and I had all the ingredients. 40 minutes seems like a long time to cook. Mine was done all the way through in 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Way too sweet for our taste. It's easy, but I can't get past how sweet it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States