Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
Thumbs up! Good recipe. Very easy and can be made with ingredients on hand. Best made with fresh fruit. I was a little hesitant just spooning the fruit on top of the batter and not having a topping to place over the fruit, but soon realized the topping comes up over the top of the fruit almost encasing it. I did as another baker did and added a tablespoon of orange juice and sprinkled just a little bit of cinnamon on top of the fruit (peaches & plums) and then sprinkled some brown sugar on top once the fruit was spooned over the batter and it turned out fantastic. Thank you! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
Absolutely my favorite dessert recipe I have found thus far on this site. I was really afraid...never having made cobbler before and trying it out for the first time with company over for dinner. It was fabulous. Company loved it and asked for the recipe. I didn't have any peaches, but used apples instead...all I had on hand. Thank you for the post....delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
I used fresh blueberries instead of peaches with great success. Good recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This was so easy and good. I just recommend adding additional fruit. I used fresh peaches (peeled and sliced) but I wish I had almost doubled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
This was the hit of the party. It was gone way before the birthday cake! I really wanted to use only apples, but I wasn't sure what type would work best, so I used what I had on hand which was only 2 granny smith. I had a lot of fresh plums I recently purchased, so I mixed them with the apples along with a dash of cinnamon, a tablespoon of orange juice, and I don't know why, but a squirt of lemon extract. I spooned over the batter, and sprinkled brown sugar on top. Everyone LOVED it! I will definately make this one again and again!!! Thank you for sharing this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I haven't ever made cobbler before, but I had some blueberries and 2 nectarines that needed to go...YUM, I'm not at all sorry that I decided to try this out. Even with my goofy fruit combo, it was still delish! Thanks Lenna!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This recipe is so easy! I love cinnamon, so I put a tsp. in the batter. And I also tossed my apples in a little apple juice, cinnamon and walnuts, then used all of the mixture, for more moistness. I will definitely make this again, and will try other fruit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
I tried it tonight to see if it was good enough to serve to company tomorrow night. It passed with flying colors! Quick, easy and oh, so wonderful. Comfort food......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
This was great for a family funeral. I made up 8 large pans and they were gone inside of 10 minutes! I have weekly bakes of it to my friends and family. Although I got smart after the first mass baking and now they purchase the ingredients for each one they want. I would be broke otherwise! We maserated the fruits beforehand with sugars and liquor to the taste of the person who wants one made. I am the baker in the family. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Quick and easy yes, but that's not enough to please me if the end result is nothing notable. I thought it just acceptable, Hubs didn't care for it at all. I guess we were both put off by the batter part, which wasn't particularly good either in taste, texture or appearance. We also would have preferred more fruit, less "dough." Not worth the splurge in calories, so we didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States