Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Now I know why your son won 1st place with this recipe. It should get 1st, 2nd and 3rd because no other recipe can come close to the deliciousness his one has! I've always made a cheater type of cobbler with a cake mix and fruit...and it was good enough to not look for one from scratch. Plus, I am all about "easy" recipes...the less work, the better. But, I came across this one a few days ago, and decided to make it last night. And I'm happy to say I will NEVER make another cobbler recipe besides this one again. It's phenomenal!! And it really wasn't any more work than my "cheater" recipe. My fiance works nights, and gets home very early in the morning, and he found it in the fridge. Needless to say, he left me 1 helping (a small one at that) for when I woke up, lol. I used canned peaches since I didn't have fresh on hand, and I cannot imagine this tasting any better had I used fresh! I added a mixture of flour, brown sugar and butter to make a crumbly topping on this, and no other changes, and added it during the last 30 mins of cooking. It turned out perfect! I wouldnt change a thing. Thanks so much, Lenna, for this easy and delicious recipe! It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I didn't care for this recipe at all. The cake was spongy and not very flavorful. It also didn't resemble any type of cobbler I've had in the past. Like other reviewer noted, it was more like a dump cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Loved this recipe, was very easy and very good. I used frozen strawberries, thawd and took the advise of another reviewer to add some cornstarch to firm up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I was expecting more based on the reviews. This was OK, but definitely nothing to write home about. I doubt I'll make it again without some major modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Very easy recipe. Followed the recipe exactly. Used fresh peaches from the farmer's market. My husband loved this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I just made this tonight using nectarines and it was delicious. Like others, I put a tablespoon of OJ over the fresh fruit with a sprinkle of cinnamon. A little brown sugar on the top added a nice touch. I made mine in a 8x8 dish and it was perfect. May want to remember to peel the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Very good. This is more like a cake than a cobbler though. I used thawed frozen cherries along with the juice and cut back the sugar to 3/4 cup. It was still too sweet for me so the next time I will cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup. I like more of a butter flavor also so I will add butter extract in addition to the melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
made 1/2 recipe in an 8 x 8 pan, used WW pastry flour and apricots. No impressed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Yum! Honestly, I wasn't expecting it to be as good as it was due to its simplicity. I used apples and tossed them in apple butter because I thought they needed a little moisture. I also sprinkled some brown sugar over the top before putting it into the oven. We had it hot out of the oven and wished for some vanilla ice cream to top it with! Even without ice cream, I was impressed. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Easy and fast to make, a big hit with the men and I even used canned peaches and pineapple with most of the juice poured off. Served with vanilla ice cream and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States