Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I have made this with blueberries, and mixed berries, both times with whole wheat flour and it is a great easy dish. I would recommend sprinkling a little brown sugar on top. I didn't do this the second time and it was a little tart tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Micki0310
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was really easy and very fast to put together for a last minute dessert. Not counting cutting up the fruit (used fresh peaches and strawberries) it took 10 minutes to whip up and get in the oven. Taste wise , well it was a little bland , and peaches aren't very sweet so the best bites were the ones with strawberry in it , would double or make all strawberry next time. Also I added a oatmeal/brown sugar crumble to the top and thank god I did because the base was good but nothing spectacular and the crumble made it taste like a 5 star dessert. Just base and peaches I'd give 3.5 stars , with strawberries and crumble 5 stars. I added the crumble 20 minutes before it was done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki0310

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Excelent Recipe (I did peaches, raspberries, blackberries). For best effect, prepare (slice) the fruit in a bowl first. Add 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup of the sugar to the fruit, as well as 2 tablespoons of orange juice. This (sugar and acid) will leech out the natural juices and sugars of the fruit, and intensify the fruity taste creating a much stronger fruit punch to the cobbler. I served, and before I could get extra desert plates, my guests were taking seconds. HIGHLY reccomended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel Hundley
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Definitely a crowd pleaser. It was delicious as is, but I'm going to cut back on the sugar a little next time... especially if the fruit is already sweet. Melting the butter first and pouring the batter on top creates a nice crisp bottom layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hundley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I didn't like this recipe at all. It was like cake with peaches in it. Def didn't resembler a cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This is the first cobbler I've made and it came out excellent. Since it is just my husband and I, I halved the recipe and used a 9x9 pan. I also added cinnamon to the batter, used 1/2 peaches, 1/2 blueberries and mixed some brown sugar with the fruit before I spooned it over the batter. So easy to make and awesome taste. My husband's comment: "Why did you half the recipe?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinbuzb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Just was okay for my family, I followed the recipe exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I made this cobbler with peaches and plums and it turned out great. I did sprinkle a little brown sugar onto the cobbler before putting it into the oven. Had it with vanilla ice cream and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by withlovejaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
so easy so fast I used kiwi and peaches and pears it was a smash hit!! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Now I know why your son won 1st place with this recipe. It should get 1st, 2nd and 3rd because no other recipe can come close to the deliciousness his one has! I've always made a cheater type of cobbler with a cake mix and fruit...and it was good enough to not look for one from scratch. Plus, I am all about "easy" recipes...the less work, the better. But, I came across this one a few days ago, and decided to make it last night. And I'm happy to say I will NEVER make another cobbler recipe besides this one again. It's phenomenal!! And it really wasn't any more work than my "cheater" recipe. My fiance works nights, and gets home very early in the morning, and he found it in the fridge. Needless to say, he left me 1 helping (a small one at that) for when I woke up, lol. I used canned peaches since I didn't have fresh on hand, and I cannot imagine this tasting any better had I used fresh! I added a mixture of flour, brown sugar and butter to make a crumbly topping on this, and no other changes, and added it during the last 30 mins of cooking. It turned out perfect! I wouldnt change a thing. Thanks so much, Lenna, for this easy and delicious recipe! It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States