Fruit Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I'm obsessed with cheese balls. My mother has been making the savory versions for years. It's a staple at every family get-together. This year, I'll WOW them with this. I plan on serving it with mini toast (another obsession is my mini loaf pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleeaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rantoul, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
For those of you with nut allergies I use ground up cinnamon graham crackers instead of almonds on the top of the cheese "ball". ( I usually don't bother rolling it into a ball shape but just leave it in the bowl and top it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I was looking for a dessert ball and found this recipe - read other reviews and decided to make it for a few parties. Big hit and will make it again. What I did was use a big 28 oz. can of fruit cocktail, drained half syrup out and poured in blender. I chopped it up then put in a strainer (the big kind with a handle you can rest on a bowl) and let it drain about 4 hours in fridge. This worked great because I didn't need to use paper towels to get the liquid out and added this to the other ingredients (except almonds, I left those out), then mixed with a hand mixer. I lined two big cereal bowls shaped like balls/domes with saran wrap and split evenly, covering and putting in the fridge before serving with cinnamon graham cracker sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I drained fruit cocktail in refrigerator for two hours then blotted with towel. I also chopped the fruit before adding to cream cheese mixture. I also lined bowl with saran wrap made it easier to form ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Visually unappealing and for those who dared to try it simply scooped a glob either out of curiosity or sympathy...leaving most of it on their plates. Sorry, don't waste your time with this one. Ick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
A good alternative to the more traditional, savory cheese ball. 2 cans of fruit sounded like too much. I substituted ~1.5 C diced strawberries. Cinnamon grahams compliment the flavors very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Fantastic, you won't be disappointed. This cheese ball is such a nice change of pace from the typical cheese ball. I followed the recipe exactly but I did add a little bit of almond extract as others suggested. The almond extract makes it fantastic. You must try this one. Everyone really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very GOOD!! Next time I would make 1/2 recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kasia777
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I only made a 1/4 of this recipe bc I wanted to test it first before making a big batch. And to my surprise it is very good. Of course you can never go wrong with anything that has cream cheese. Didnt have almonds so I used pecan pieces. I will definetly be making this to bring to a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Unbelievably delicious! I made, what I thought was a HUGE mistake with the fruit cocktail. After reading everyone's reviews and warnings of ensuring that the fruit was well drained, I was worried because I needed to make the fruitball within a 30 minute time period. I drained the LITE SYRUP fruit cocktail for about 5 minutes, then put in a mini-food processor to chop. I had the wrong blade, and ended up with a course fruit puree. I put 5-6 papertowels in a colander and tried to get a little more moisture out. I put the finely chopped pecans into the fruit puree and hoped for the best. IT EASILY ROLLED INTO BEAUTIFUL BALL! I had no excess water at all, and it was finished in less than 20 minutes from start to finish. I also used sugar-free vanilla pudding, and added the almond extract. DELICIOUS!! It was the talk of the appetizers, and everyone wanted the recipe. Absolutely one of my favorite recipes now! Served with Wheatables and Graham Crackers. I liked the salt/sweet combination, but other's enjoyed the sweet on sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States