Fruit Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I made this with fat free cream cheese, 1 can of regular syrup fruit, and added in a small container of blueberries and chia seeds and it was delicious and had a great texture. I added a small amount of almonds to the mix and put the remaining almonds in a large bowl. After using a spatula to shape the mixture as much as I could, dropped it onto the almonds then turned to fruit ball over onto a shallow bowl. Looks great!! Now to make some cinnamon sugar tortilla slices to serve with it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina LeMaster Rice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I'm obsessed with cheese balls. My mother has been making the savory versions for years. It's a staple at every family get-together. This year, I'll WOW them with this. I plan on serving it with mini toast (another obsession is my mini loaf pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleeaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rantoul, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
For those of you with nut allergies I use ground up cinnamon graham crackers instead of almonds on the top of the cheese "ball". ( I usually don't bother rolling it into a ball shape but just leave it in the bowl and top it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I was looking for a dessert ball and found this recipe - read other reviews and decided to make it for a few parties. Big hit and will make it again. What I did was use a big 28 oz. can of fruit cocktail, drained half syrup out and poured in blender. I chopped it up then put in a strainer (the big kind with a handle you can rest on a bowl) and let it drain about 4 hours in fridge. This worked great because I didn't need to use paper towels to get the liquid out and added this to the other ingredients (except almonds, I left those out), then mixed with a hand mixer. I lined two big cereal bowls shaped like balls/domes with saran wrap and split evenly, covering and putting in the fridge before serving with cinnamon graham cracker sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I drained fruit cocktail in refrigerator for two hours then blotted with towel. I also chopped the fruit before adding to cream cheese mixture. I also lined bowl with saran wrap made it easier to form ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Visually unappealing and for those who dared to try it simply scooped a glob either out of curiosity or sympathy...leaving most of it on their plates. Sorry, don't waste your time with this one. Ick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
A good alternative to the more traditional, savory cheese ball. 2 cans of fruit sounded like too much. I substituted ~1.5 C diced strawberries. Cinnamon grahams compliment the flavors very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Fantastic, you won't be disappointed. This cheese ball is such a nice change of pace from the typical cheese ball. I followed the recipe exactly but I did add a little bit of almond extract as others suggested. The almond extract makes it fantastic. You must try this one. Everyone really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very GOOD!! Next time I would make 1/2 recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kasia777
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I only made a 1/4 of this recipe bc I wanted to test it first before making a big batch. And to my surprise it is very good. Of course you can never go wrong with anything that has cream cheese. Didnt have almonds so I used pecan pieces. I will definetly be making this to bring to a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia777
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States